Apple Slab Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
We really enjoyed this recipe and it's easier to slice and serve than a round pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Delicious! I only made two changes. One, I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cups for the filling and it was just the right amount of sweet (I would up that to 1 cup if I was using a super tart apple like Granny Smith) and I added 1 cup of old fashioned oatmeal to the topping ingredients. I used a 9 X 13 pan. Also, the secret to a truly incredible apple pie is to use a variety of apples in your filling. I generally use a mix of Rome, McIntosh and Gala. But I also use Jonagold and HoneyCrisp on occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
My husband loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
We all loved this! I was looking for a recipe instead of a usual apple pie that I could use up our fresh picked apples and this ended up being perfect. Didn't change a thing and can't wait to make this again. The house smelled divine while baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caranam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This was very good and sweet. I will make again but will reduce the sugar in the filling and topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Not only did it smell good in the oven, but wow!! The taste was awesome.! I cut my recipe in half and cooked it in my iron skillet. Very good! Will defnitely make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Everyone enjoyed this recipe, it was sweet and gooey, what's not to love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I used half brown sugar in the filling and added a little nutmeg and clove. I left the crust soft enough to press it into the pan rather than rolling it out. Turned out very nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Delicious..easier to make than my apple pies..I cut the sugar to 1 C...it was sweet enough. Next time I will also cut a bit of the sugar on the topping..definitely a keeper..thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States