Apple Shortbread Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
This is by far the best apple pie recipe I have found so far. Even my 4 year old who doesn't liek apples LOVED it and ate 2 pieces as soon as she could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
This is a great pie! It went over well with my family. We also liked it because it is not very sugary. I will recommend this one to my friends. -Geri Culwell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
easy and tastes great...the crust was absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Absolutely delicious!! I won't make any other apple pie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Very, very good! I would make this again in an instant. I just happened to have all the ingredients, so I threw it together, as easy as--well, easier than--pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
I fixed this for hubby's potluck to go with the Irish chicken & dumplings recipe here on allrecipes, and I have to say, I had a hard time letting it go out the door! The shortbread is fantastic, and the golden delicious apples are a nice change from my usual granny smiths. Wonderful flavor and aroma, all though the apples were really juicy, and the pie was a bit watery. Maybe tossing the apples with a bit of flour along with the brown sugar/cinnamon/nutmeg combo would help? Highly recommend for a very simple apple pie, without the hassle of rolling out dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
When we first tasted this pie we rated it as delicious and definately a keeper. By the time we had the second piece, the crumb crust had turned to "mush". Did anyone else have this trouble? Also, the apples were a bit too firm. Perhaps cook them a bit first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
WONDERFUL!!! This could also be called "Peach Shortbread Pie". I made this recipe with about 2 pounds of peaches in a round stoneware pan. I added one-fourth cup more brown sugar and it was superb. My daughter said "why make pie when you can make this"! We all loved it. I baked it for 50 minutes uncovered. This is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
Yum! The shortbread dough seems VERY crumbly however do not worry, it can be patted into place and will bake up fine. I would suggest sprinkling some brown and white sugar over top of the apples if they are tart (e.g. Granny Smith), I used macs and it turned out fine per the recipe. I did not use all the dough; there was a lot left after making a crust and I didn't want to bury the apples. A nice fairly simple, quick apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Super easy and delicious! A great alternative to traditional apple pies. I added 1/4 cup more brown sugar and changed spices to 3/4 t cinnamon and 1/4 t nutmeg. Took it to work and my co-workers went crazy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States