Apple Shortbread Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was a very good very easy dessert. I served it with whipped cream and everyone loved it. I heated a piece up for about 20 seconds in the microwave the next day and it came out okay. It didn't hold together as well but it's still good. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
The dough was a bit sticky, I had a hard time pressing it into the plate. I did use more apples than it called for, I was using a deep dish pie plate which I won't do again since there wasn't enough crust! It tasted really good the first day, then the crust does get soggy. Next time I'll use a smaller pie plate and make sure it gets served the same day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Tasted really really good, I added cinamon to mine But not sure what I did wrong on the crust, I thought I might be able to do this one .... but nope it went all soggie and not at all shortbread like. ! I think I just no good at pastry making. but it still tasted good thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: ???, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
Really yummy and great the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I have made this twice now and it's turned out fabulous both times. I used granny smith apples. The crust is wonderfully thick, like shortbread. Those who usually don't like pie crust especially enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I chose this recipe because I was looking for something just a little bit different than the usual pie or crisp. It was different but not as good. It was simple to make, but just as simple as making a crisp. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This was very easy to make. A little too much crust. The golden del. apples didn't have too much taste, too sweet. I prefer a jonathan or macintosh. I made it the night before using it and the crust got soggy. I may try pre-baking the crust a bit before adding the apples next time. I served it with the cinnamon ice cream recipe from this site and everybody raved about both dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This recipe was delicious, much easier than a pie, and was universally enjoyed by all who ate it! The only thing I would change is that there is too much crust/topping and not enough apples in this recipe. I would simply reduce the amount of crust I made next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
This was very good! The only thing was the crust was a little too thick for the unmassive filling. If I were to make it again, I would probably double the filling, since the shortbread over powered its taste. Also, I would cover the edges with tinfoil, because the shortbread browns easily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
This was really good. Served it w/Clotted Cream and Irish Coffee for St. Patty's Day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States