Apple Shortbread Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by mom23cuties
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I just made this dessert today. I found that the crust was too much for just an 8-inch pie dish, so I put mine in a 9x13-inch baking pan. This way, it wasn't too thick and I think it was somehow better balanced in relation to the apples. Also, I ended up baking it for close to 45 minutes (instead of the 35 stated in the recipe) because the crust was too pale on both top and bottom at the 35-minute point. Otherwise, once done, the taste was very good- my husband and I both had three servings each! :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23cuties

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Very Good!! my daugahter liked it. I just add 2 teaspoons of ground cinnamon becuase I like it a lot. The shortbread mix needs at least 2 tablespoon more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This recipes gets thumbs way up from me. The underneath crust came out crispy, sweet, and slightly brown. The pie itself was very tasty. The best thing about it is that this is a complete pie without any dough-rolling at all. Cheers! I made no changes to this recipe except letting the pie bake for an additional 5 minutes to be sure it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This is wonderful! I started making this pie over a year ago and it is still the only kind of apple pie I make! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is amazing. for some reason my crust was mush, i'm almost sure it's because i messed up the recipe a little, but a night in the fridge made it harden. besides that, this is just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I did not try this pie because I had made so many desserts but everyone who tried it loved it so im giving it 5 stars. I will definately make it again so I can try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
the crust is just too much! it's very dry. i acutally threw this one in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was easy and tasted good but there was too much crust. The top crust was done but the bottom was still not cooked. I will be making this again but I will use less crust on the bottom and I will try with Granny smith apples. I think I will try like another reviewer said and bake the bottom crust and then add the apples and top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was a very good very easy dessert. I served it with whipped cream and everyone loved it. I heated a piece up for about 20 seconds in the microwave the next day and it came out okay. It didn't hold together as well but it's still good. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
The dough was a bit sticky, I had a hard time pressing it into the plate. I did use more apples than it called for, I was using a deep dish pie plate which I won't do again since there wasn't enough crust! It tasted really good the first day, then the crust does get soggy. Next time I'll use a smaller pie plate and make sure it gets served the same day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States