Apple Shortbread Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Love the crust. I use my apple pie filling I can every year and use this crust and topping. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Engles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Love this pie - so easy. Several have mentioned that their crust turned mushy - ours did not - we stored it in the refrigerator, and I also used Gala apples instead of the Golden Delicious. Also doubled (at LEAST) the cinnamon. Our daughter is not typically an apple pie eater, but she LOVED this. I will also try it in a peach version and will definitely make it either way again and again in the years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
A little dry, too much topping. If I made it again, add cranberries to give it some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Really like this recipe. I've made it twice and everyone likes it. I like the fact that it doesn't have shortening like a regular pie crust. I prefer to have good old butter. Easy to make too. I used Macintosh apples and they turned out nice. Also want to note that I used way more apples based on previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Some people might think this pie isn't sweet enough, but our family loved it. It was so easy that my 9 year old son was able to do most of the recipe himself. I only had to separate the eggs for him and take it out of the oven. We all agreed that the crust was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixingmedias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Made this recipe from magazine found some years ago and it was a favorite. Just found my handwritten copy again and the pie's baking now in the oven. The original recipe called for an 8 inch springform pan. My husband loves the filling softer, so I usually precook the apples, as well as use a few more than the recipe calls for. I almost always end up baking it about 10-15 min. longer, as well. (Maybe because it's in a spring form pan?)I, too have problems if the pie sits overnight-it can get a little soggy. Happily, it's such an awesome recipe, that is almost never an issue! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1horseshay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Perfect. I pressed down in the center of the shortbread mix and forced the sides up a bit to create a small well. Other than that, I followed this recipe precisely. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Quick, easy, good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I made this for DH and he says - "another keeper"! Made it with no changes! He ate 3 helpings himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loydafr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
i tried this about 5 years ago for a legion dinner for about 60 people have used this recipe ever since and every year i have to re copy it for my son also wont use anything else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States