Apple Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Excellent. It is nice to have so many pieces from a pie. My 5 year old grandaughter(picky eater) keeps asking when I will make it again. I also cut the frosting in 1/2 & had plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Wonderful Recipe! Like an apple tart with wonderful 'crust'! I rolled the dough out between two sheets of waxed paper and it took some effort but will fit the recommended pan! I halved the "frosting" and made a thin glaze for the top. This "cake" got rave reviews from my family and our dinner guest! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This is wonderful. Should be listed as pie not cake though. I was worried about rolling dough out for big pan, but it worked and I would rather make this than a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
everyone loves it. for a big crowd it easier than making two pies. flavor great. all raves on this one everyone want's the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This was just wonderful. My husband made me make for his work and within 10 min. it was gone. My brother doesn`t like apples so i added blueberry`s and it was just as good. It reminded me of a toaster strudel with the icing. I am so glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Wow this was great! I rolled the dough btw wax paper to make it easier to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
this was so yummy. my kids loved it. we couldnt stop going back and picking at it. i agree that it is between a pie and pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNF45

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was much better and easier than making a pie. The pastry was very easy to work with. The frosting sends it over the top! I used 1/2 Granny Smith apples and 1/2 Golden delicious for a nice mix of sweet and tart. Best served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nilla
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I just pulled my "apple sheet cake" out of the oven about an hour ago and already had a piece. It was delicious! The crust is not like your ordinary pie crust - it's more biscuit like (probably because there is baking powder in the crust). I think the crust might be a tad bit better if it had some sugar in it. It's plenty sweet with the apple filling & icing but the edges by themselves are not sweet enough. I made 1 1/2 recipes of the pastry because I suck at rolling out pie dough and I thought that rolling it out to the size of a jelly roll pan would be difficult for me. 1 1/2 recipes turned out to be perfect for me! I had enough dough to really get a nice looking edge to my crust that I could crimp nicely. It prevented any leaks of the filling and did not brown too much. The only small change I made in the recipe is to add one more tablespoon of flour in the filling because I was worried about it being too thin. I cut it when the pie/cake was still very warm and it did not ooze at all. Sliced very nicely. I prepared my filling before I started on my crust and so my filling had a chance to produce alot of juice at the bottom of the bowl which I left in the bowl as I scooped the apples into the crust. I've had so many pies with soggy bottom crusts that I tried hard to prevent it from happening again. I used 3 different kinds of apples and didn't weigh them but used about 7 or 8 medium apples. I sliced them very thinly because 30 minutes in the oven is not a long time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
A wonderful dessert! It was enjoyed by all. Like a few of the previous reviewers I added cinn. & a 1/4 c. sugar to the crust and I'm glad I did. The frosting made it extra special--kind of a cross between an apple pie and a danish. Glad I found this recipe at the start of the apple season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States