Apple Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Wow this was great! I rolled the dough btw wax paper to make it easier to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Wonderful Recipe! Like an apple tart with wonderful 'crust'! I rolled the dough out between two sheets of waxed paper and it took some effort but will fit the recommended pan! I halved the "frosting" and made a thin glaze for the top. This "cake" got rave reviews from my family and our dinner guest! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This is wonderful. Should be listed as pie not cake though. I was worried about rolling dough out for big pan, but it worked and I would rather make this than a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Excellent. It is nice to have so many pieces from a pie. My 5 year old grandaughter(picky eater) keeps asking when I will make it again. I also cut the frosting in 1/2 & had plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
everyone loves it. for a big crowd it easier than making two pies. flavor great. all raves on this one everyone want's the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This was just wonderful. My husband made me make for his work and within 10 min. it was gone. My brother doesn`t like apples so i added blueberry`s and it was just as good. It reminded me of a toaster strudel with the icing. I am so glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
this was so yummy. my kids loved it. we couldnt stop going back and picking at it. i agree that it is between a pie and pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNF45

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was much better and easier than making a pie. The pastry was very easy to work with. The frosting sends it over the top! I used 1/2 Granny Smith apples and 1/2 Golden delicious for a nice mix of sweet and tart. Best served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nilla
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I just pulled my "apple sheet cake" out of the oven about an hour ago and already had a piece. It was delicious! The crust is not like your ordinary pie crust - it's more biscuit like (probably because there is baking powder in the crust). I think the crust might be a tad bit better if it had some sugar in it. It's plenty sweet with the apple filling & icing but the edges by themselves are not sweet enough. I made 1 1/2 recipes of the pastry because I suck at rolling out pie dough and I thought that rolling it out to the size of a jelly roll pan would be difficult for me. 1 1/2 recipes turned out to be perfect for me! I had enough dough to really get a nice looking edge to my crust that I could crimp nicely. It prevented any leaks of the filling and did not brown too much. The only small change I made in the recipe is to add one more tablespoon of flour in the filling because I was worried about it being too thin. I cut it when the pie/cake was still very warm and it did not ooze at all. Sliced very nicely. I prepared my filling before I started on my crust and so my filling had a chance to produce alot of juice at the bottom of the bowl which I left in the bowl as I scooped the apples into the crust. I've had so many pies with soggy bottom crusts that I tried hard to prevent it from happening again. I used 3 different kinds of apples and didn't weigh them but used about 7 or 8 medium apples. I sliced them very thinly because 30 minutes in the oven is not a long time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
A wonderful dessert! It was enjoyed by all. Like a few of the previous reviewers I added cinn. & a 1/4 c. sugar to the crust and I'm glad I did. The frosting made it extra special--kind of a cross between an apple pie and a danish. Glad I found this recipe at the start of the apple season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States