Apple Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Excellent. It is nice to have so many pieces from a pie. My 5 year old grandaughter(picky eater) keeps asking when I will make it again. I also cut the frosting in 1/2 & had plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This is wonderful. Should be listed as pie not cake though. I was worried about rolling dough out for big pan, but it worked and I would rather make this than a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Wonderful Recipe! Like an apple tart with wonderful 'crust'! I rolled the dough out between two sheets of waxed paper and it took some effort but will fit the recommended pan! I halved the "frosting" and made a thin glaze for the top. This "cake" got rave reviews from my family and our dinner guest! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLENE1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
As previously noted this was tough to roll out to the proper thickness and size, but the crust was good. I did doctor up the filling a bit with extra cinnamon, brown sugar and nutmeg. Came out good and it freezes and defrosts well. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
definitely a keeper. The pastry seemed so sticky, I was not expecting a very good crust from it, but it turned out wonderfully. It was not difficult to role, either, which I was very concerned about. I only had ingredients for half the icing, so made only a half recipe of the icing, honestly, I don't know where I would have used the rest, half a recipe was plenty. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
This was really really yummy. I found it slightly difficult to roll out the dough and make it perfectly shaped. I also added a touch more brown sugar. It was wonderful, our guests LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
I find this easier than apple pie and it is great for a crowd. I took it to a pot luck and got LOTS of requests for the recipe. I have made this using both butter and shortening for the dough, butter makes a more tender crust. It is a job rolling it out to fit into the pan but the dough is easier to handle than regular piecrust. Definitely a hard to categorize dessert, it's not a "cake", more of a pie in a sheet pan. My husband said "It's like a cross between an apple pie and a danish... but better." I'll be making this one again. The icing's called for amounts frosts the dessert VERY generously, you could get away with half as much (if you wanted to!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
Made this pie exactly as the recipe states, and it was absolutely amazing. Tastes just like a cinnamon bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This is not a cake, but a pie, and oh what a pie! I didn't have the 10 X 15 pan, so I used a 9 X 13 cake pan. I did not take time to do the icing, either, and doubled the amount of cinnamon. We all agreed it was wonderful for an early morning coffee. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
I was looking for a recipe to get rid of a whole bunch of extra apples I had, so I tried this one out. I used a 4" x 3 1/2" x 4 3/8 depth bread pan instead of the recommended 10 x 15 inch pan. (I'm in Germany, so I had to improvise.) I also added about 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg to the filling. I also used butter instead of shortening, which made the cake taste nice and buttery. It turned out great! It tasted like an applely cinnamon roll. It's best eaten warm, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEIOUSEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States