Apple Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This is a great recipe! I did substitute brown sugar instead of white, but that's the only change I made. The crust is fantastic! It is sticky, so I just spread it in the sheet pan by hand and it worked great. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was more like a sheet apple pie. It was really very good! I followed what another reviewer said and rolled out the dough between parchment paper. Best idea ever!!! I will now be doing this with any rolled pie or cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
very good and easy. next time i will increse the dough amount be half, since i didnt have enough to cover the top completly. i didnt add the frosting this time and they were still great. i forgot to add the butter to the apples, tasted great with out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Incredible-favorite of everyone. My 5 year old has been requesting these for months now. I call these 'apple pie bars'. This is the only recipe I ever spend the time making home-made dough for & it is well worth it. It's a big pan, but they get eaten fast! Let's be realistic, it takes time peeling/slicing apples & rolling out the crust if you're not used to it (I bought a tupperware rolling sheet & that helps me a ton). I usually cut the frosting amount in half-it's just too much. These are just as good refrigerated as they are fresh. Forget apple pie & move on up to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Just happened to be perusing the dessert recipes and found this- wonderful dessert. My kids could hardly wait for it to come out of the oven, and the whole family loves it. Used Darlene1's idea of rolling between wax paper-great idea- it really allows you to roll it out thin. My pan was bigger then 10x15-so I did 1 1/2 recipe,could have used just a little more. I ended up rolling the crust in pieces and pasted it together; it still didn't leak through. Used 1/2 the frosting as others suggested, that was plenty. This is so very good. It's a shame to call this apple sheet cake-as I would bet a lot more people would try it if it were called something like apple dapple surprise. Definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This is a nice recipe and it has a great taste, but the crust was difficult to work with. It was sooo sticky ;) I had to add more flour in order to roll it into the pan. I'm horrible at making my own pie crusts, so it was probably me. Therefore, I am giving it 5 stars. Great recipe for a potluck or party :) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
YUMMY. It was delish. I added a little more sugar, and also mixed a little brown sugar and cinnamon in the crust. Not a piece left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
A hit at Nate's graduation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
A wonderful dessert! It was enjoyed by all. Like a few of the previous reviewers I added cinn. & a 1/4 c. sugar to the crust and I'm glad I did. The frosting made it extra special--kind of a cross between an apple pie and a danish. Glad I found this recipe at the start of the apple season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
These were good but I think the frosting is a little too sweet for my taste. Even my DH said What is in it that taste soo sugary? I would make again but maybe with less frosting and more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States