Apple Sheet Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
These were good but I think the frosting is a little too sweet for my taste. Even my DH said What is in it that taste soo sugary? I would make again but maybe with less frosting and more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I hate apple pie and I hate most cake BUT THIS IS THE BEST THING EVER. Its easy, everything came out perfect; the apples, the icing and the most perfect dough for the crust. I do have a kitchen aid to do all my mixing and whipping. Thank you Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvisgood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by sohol
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This reminds me of a apple slice pastry I used to buy by the slice from 7-11..when I was a kid, it would be delievered from some bakery in Chicago.. I have made this many of times now everyone always loves it....sometimes i will add rasins(golden rasins) and walnuts....but its great as is too. I double dough recipe and used 12 x 18 sheet pan & had alittle left over dough,but I like having anuff to work with..its a easy dough to work with on a flour dusted table..I use flour to dust and roll the dough...I like it best with granny smith apples, I wash and core them,then just slice them up, with the peel on them..(big time saver)no one ever knows differance...if you use red apples you will have to peel them, otherwise you will have bits of red, not pretty...I also but alittle cinn and brown sugar in the dough...I use this recipe for pot luck dinners, its always a number 1 dessert, ice cream is good on top also. love it. Note if you dont want it watery...use granny smith apple , they hold their juices.....poeple always love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sohol

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I LOVE THIS... I put sugar and cinnamon in the dough as sugested to do by other reviewers. I would sugest putting 1/2 of a cup of flour in the apple mix. This would be 5 if I did not have to do so much to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nilla
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I just pulled my "apple sheet cake" out of the oven about an hour ago and already had a piece. It was delicious! The crust is not like your ordinary pie crust - it's more biscuit like (probably because there is baking powder in the crust). I think the crust might be a tad bit better if it had some sugar in it. It's plenty sweet with the apple filling & icing but the edges by themselves are not sweet enough. I made 1 1/2 recipes of the pastry because I suck at rolling out pie dough and I thought that rolling it out to the size of a jelly roll pan would be difficult for me. 1 1/2 recipes turned out to be perfect for me! I had enough dough to really get a nice looking edge to my crust that I could crimp nicely. It prevented any leaks of the filling and did not brown too much. The only small change I made in the recipe is to add one more tablespoon of flour in the filling because I was worried about it being too thin. I cut it when the pie/cake was still very warm and it did not ooze at all. Sliced very nicely. I prepared my filling before I started on my crust and so my filling had a chance to produce alot of juice at the bottom of the bowl which I left in the bowl as I scooped the apples into the crust. I've had so many pies with soggy bottom crusts that I tried hard to prevent it from happening again. I used 3 different kinds of apples and didn't weigh them but used about 7 or 8 medium apples. I sliced them very thinly because 30 minutes in the oven is not a long time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was much better and easier than making a pie. The pastry was very easy to work with. The frosting sends it over the top! I used 1/2 Granny Smith apples and 1/2 Golden delicious for a nice mix of sweet and tart. Best served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
this was so yummy. my kids loved it. we couldnt stop going back and picking at it. i agree that it is between a pie and pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNF45

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Wow this was great! I rolled the dough btw wax paper to make it easier to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This was just wonderful. My husband made me make for his work and within 10 min. it was gone. My brother doesn`t like apples so i added blueberry`s and it was just as good. It reminded me of a toaster strudel with the icing. I am so glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
everyone loves it. for a big crowd it easier than making two pies. flavor great. all raves on this one everyone want's the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States