Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These are delicious!!!! Best served hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SurferGirl88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Super recipe. I tweeked it a little. After reading a sweet roll recipe where the baker added apple brandy, it gave me the idea of putting something similiar in this recipe. I added a a tbl of apple crisp liqueur. Then, once it was done baking, I immediatly spritzed some more on top. This made the sugar crisp up. Not sure if this added to the recipe but you could taste the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
it was delicious. i made one batch this morning. made with 1 and 1/2 cups chopped apples with a generous tsp of cinnamon. fragrant in the oven and came out looking good. small batch. good for making fresh for just a couple of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzzylogicricecooker
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great recipe, but I made a few changes. A few reviews said the apple flavor gets lost, so i did a fine dice rather than shred. I also added a splash of Jameson irish whiskey for flavor... you could probably do vanilla or almond extract. I also mixed the cinnamon and sugar together before sprinkling it over the scones. These are really simple, and the flavoring is suttle, but these are really great, especially with a good-sized dab of butter on them right after they come out of the oven :) Cheers, and happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrimsonJewel

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
After reading the other reviews I have to agree that the batter needed extra moisture. I made half a batch and used one apple roughly chopped to the batter. I also added a little cinnamon and additional milk to the batter just until the mixture held together. For my personal tastes, I would have preferred the scone to be a little sweeter but it was still very good for our morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These were great. I did chop my apple and added dried cranberries, I also had to add an additional 1/4 milk because the mixture was way too dry to even bind together. These looked just like scones that came from a local bakery. My family loved them and my kids really enjoyed helping make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norasmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
i added lemon peel nutmeg cloves ground ginger andf more milk and sugar yumm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Delicious! I used a Braeburn apple, but golden delicious would be nice. I also added cinnamon to the batter instead of on top. The apple flavor is mild enough to truly be a scone vs a sugary dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
More of a biscuit then a scone. Very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These got a little drier than I was expecting, and 15 minutes was a little too long to cook them---they were done in 10 and slightly burnt at 15. Of the three types of scones I brought to the garden party, these got the lowest overall rating by fellow partygoers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States