Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Super recipe. I tweeked it a little. After reading a sweet roll recipe where the baker added apple brandy, it gave me the idea of putting something similiar in this recipe. I added a a tbl of apple crisp liqueur. Then, once it was done baking, I immediatly spritzed some more on top. This made the sugar crisp up. Not sure if this added to the recipe but you could taste the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
it was delicious. i made one batch this morning. made with 1 and 1/2 cups chopped apples with a generous tsp of cinnamon. fragrant in the oven and came out looking good. small batch. good for making fresh for just a couple of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbreadmachine
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great recipe, but I made a few changes. A few reviews said the apple flavor gets lost, so i did a fine dice rather than shred. I also added a splash of Jameson irish whiskey for flavor... you could probably do vanilla or almond extract. I also mixed the cinnamon and sugar together before sprinkling it over the scones. These are really simple, and the flavoring is suttle, but these are really great, especially with a good-sized dab of butter on them right after they come out of the oven :) Cheers, and happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrimsonJewel

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
After reading the other reviews I have to agree that the batter needed extra moisture. I made half a batch and used one apple roughly chopped to the batter. I also added a little cinnamon and additional milk to the batter just until the mixture held together. For my personal tastes, I would have preferred the scone to be a little sweeter but it was still very good for our morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These were great. I did chop my apple and added dried cranberries, I also had to add an additional 1/4 milk because the mixture was way too dry to even bind together. These looked just like scones that came from a local bakery. My family loved them and my kids really enjoyed helping make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norasmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
i added lemon peel nutmeg cloves ground ginger andf more milk and sugar yumm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Delicious! I used a Braeburn apple, but golden delicious would be nice. I also added cinnamon to the batter instead of on top. The apple flavor is mild enough to truly be a scone vs a sugary dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
More of a biscuit then a scone. Very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These got a little drier than I was expecting, and 15 minutes was a little too long to cook them---they were done in 10 and slightly burnt at 15. Of the three types of scones I brought to the garden party, these got the lowest overall rating by fellow partygoers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Dissapointed. I found it to be too dry and tasteless. I followed it step by step, expected more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States