Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I loved these! Also added some cinnamon to the recipe. They are best when fresh as they are so nice and crisp on the outside, moist on the inside. I had many leftovers so I've been microwaving them when I want a piece. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Good recipe, added ad little cinnamon and nutmeg to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petecook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
As others stated, they were a little bland and I couldn't taste the apple at all. Had to add a little more flour to get a stiff enough dough to knead. Next time I will mix the apples with cinnamon & sugar and maybe a little nutmeg to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
It was a great scone! Not too sweet, and you really can taste the apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Yu
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. It can also be made with water for lactose intolerancy, but use half as much cuz water is thinner. I chopped my apple into small slices and bits, which works well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I really enjoyed these! I would rather use apple pie filling or chunks of apple rather than having it shredded. I also added more sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter for extra taste and sweetness. This is a easy recipe and great for fast breakfast or a on the go snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
These are pretty good. If you want them to bake up a little better use 2 cups of self-rising flour vs. all purpose, 1/4 c. of sugar, 1/2 tsp. of baking powder, 1 tsp. of cream of tartar, and 1/4 tsp. of salt. Freeze the butter and grate it on a cheese grater. I added 1/4 tsp. of nutgeg and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and vanilla. I always use half and half instead of milk. I used a red delicious apple and added 1/4 c. of raisins. These came out nice, but next time I might add two apples for more apple taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I followed suggestions to reduce the milk by half and also doubled the recipe without problems. Rave reviews from coworkers. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
These are great scones! My twist to these already good scones is to increase the sugar to 1/2 c,lactaid milk to 1/2c add 1 tsp Maple flavoring, 1/2 tsp of allspice and forgo the currants. I formed these into individual scones, patted them in flour and then after placing them on baking sheets, sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon. I baked them for approx 12-15 minutes. They were wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Pretty bland. Cakey. Not scone type. It was salvagable with some fruit marmalade. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States