Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I used wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour and the scones still tasted sweet and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I made one change to this recipe, I added raisins to it. I made the first batch of this recipe as printed. They tasted very good, but decided raisins would make them even better. So I added 3/4 of a cup of raisins to the recipe and that one little addition made them taste so awesome. So my review is based off of the batch I made with raisins. This recipe is going to be a regular around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made 2 changes, 1 added another apple, 2 Added the cinnamon in the dough. They were pretty good. Not too dry. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefnan
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
These were great. I used European sour cream for the milk and increased sugar to a half cup after reading reviews and they were very delish. Did need a little more flour though as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefnan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
My kids love these scones! I use brown sugar instead of white as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Very good. Used honey in place of sugar and added extra grated Granny Smith apples. Added 1 t. cinnamon to the dry mix. Also added raisins which made this more sweet and tasty. (And I don't usually like raisins in my baking but my husband loves raisin apple combinations). I used cream instead of milk. Skipped the butter / cinnamon on top just cut cold frozen butter and added to mix with cinnamon. We will be making these again. Needed 5 extra minutes to bake than directions perhaps since I added extra grated apple. Very moist recipe and not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
delicious. i added a bit of cinnamon in the batter, and it really helped bring out the apple flavor. i'm going to experiment with a drizzled icing o go on these, as i think that would be fab as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
excellent! easy to make, fluffy, and delicious! a good size too. nice snack sized to have with a coffee at work instead of going to the shop :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
My son is allergic to eggs, so it's always a challenge to find eggless baking recipes - but this is a WOW! I have 3 little boys, none of which are big eaters, and they ate the entire batch in 1 morning - I had to make another batch the next day. I added both cinnamon and freshly ground nutmeg to the dough - YUM! I did find that I had to bake them a bit longer than the recipe says - about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made these scones because I had a lot of apples in the house that were about to go bad and I didn't want to waste them. I adjusted the recipe slightly to fit my families needs. Since I couldn't make the scones dairy I substituted margarine for the butter and rice milk for the milk. I also added chocolate chips to the scones since many reviews stated that they needed a little more zing. Instead of making the dough into circles and filling them with the sugar and cinnamon I rolled the dough into three inch circles and sprinkled the sugar mixture on top. I will probably make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States