Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I found this recipe and after reading some of the reviews I added cinnamon, nutmeg & allspice to the batter. I also added about 1/4 tsp of vanilla and two apples. These came out very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
My first time making scones. I also added cinnamon to the dough. They turned out great! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Eh, just so-so. I didn't have much luck with these. The dough was mush so it wasn't easy to knead without sticking to everything. I added extra apple and cinnamon after reading other reviews and I still thought these were bland. Not awful, just not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
These are awesome!! Woke up one morning to make muffins, had no eggs so made these instead, and was very surprised! They smell so good baking too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Yummy recipe! I took the advice of some others and added spices b/c I think it would otherwise be bland. (I added 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/8 tsp. nutmeg and 1/8 tsp. cloves) I also wanted them to be somewhat sweeter than the average scone. --I'm not a fan of blah food.-- ;) So, I added about 2 tbsp extra brown sugar to the mix and a little extra white sugar. The result was perfect!! Crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. Love it, and will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeelover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Casey
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Just made these and they turned out great! Not an extremely strong apple flavour though. I had mine just out of the oven with butter and a glass of milk :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Toulouse, Midi-Pyrénées, France
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
These were delicious and not so dry as most scones; my company ate every one of them and would've eaten more had I had them. I would make more of them than I thought I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
These turned out great! I used a gala apple. I added cinnamon to the dough. For all the people who said it was not sweet enough try adding extra sugar to the top of the scones before baking. I will definatly make these again and will try adding new things to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katileena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Simple, Quick, Not too sweet. Only thing is the milk amount. It caused a problem forming the dough for me. So after looking at a review, I added more flour and I just don't know how much and wished for the best. Thanks to another review, I wan to try this recipe with 1/4 milk instead of 1/2 cup. Overall, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Delicious. Not really sure if there is room for improvement. I added some chocolate chips to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States