Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
The recipe was easy enough but once baked I found they lacked in flavor. I doubt that anyone would be able to guess they were Apple and I did use fresh apples. Not really a traditional scone either, reminded me more of a cross between a biscuit and muffin?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Just what I was looking for instead of all the milk I used 1/4 cup sour cream and 1/4 cup milk it turned out perfect and moist, and I loved the apple cinnamon flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Awesome! I just now made these and they turned out great. I did add a little more sugar plus added some cinnamon and finely chopped walnuts to the batter. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet seafler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I added caramel bits instead of apple. Delish:}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very Good recipe. I wouldn't change a thing! Sometimes we make this on Saturdays for breakfast and we can't get enough.Even my picky 2 year old gobbles this up. For the moms of young children out there this recipe is very kid friendly! Its addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
i didnt follow the recipe exactly, i added a bit more sugar,4 shakes of nutmeg, cinnomon,and cloves. used buttermilk instad of milk, and just added more flour wen needed. my family loves them they are awesome.thank you for the BASE recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe! These were just the right consistency and texture. I added about a teaspoon of cinnamon to the butter/flour mixture to add a little extra flavor. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella888

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I followed others advice and only added 1/4 cup of milk and added cinnamon and nutmeg to dough. I also topped with finely chopped crystallized ginger. These turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
very good scones texture but they had no flavor. i will change the spices next time. and add double the apples. but still pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I found this recipe and after reading some of the reviews I added cinnamon, nutmeg & allspice to the batter. I also added about 1/4 tsp of vanilla and two apples. These came out very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States