Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
After reading the other reviews I have to agree that the batter needed extra moisture. I made half a batch and used one apple roughly chopped to the batter. I also added a little cinnamon and additional milk to the batter just until the mixture held together. For my personal tastes, I would have preferred the scone to be a little sweeter but it was still very good for our morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
These were great. I did chop my apple and added dried cranberries, I also had to add an additional 1/4 milk because the mixture was way too dry to even bind together. These looked just like scones that came from a local bakery. My family loved them and my kids really enjoyed helping make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norasmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
i added lemon peel nutmeg cloves ground ginger andf more milk and sugar yumm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Delicious! I used a Braeburn apple, but golden delicious would be nice. I also added cinnamon to the batter instead of on top. The apple flavor is mild enough to truly be a scone vs a sugary dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
More of a biscuit then a scone. Very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These got a little drier than I was expecting, and 15 minutes was a little too long to cook them---they were done in 10 and slightly burnt at 15. Of the three types of scones I brought to the garden party, these got the lowest overall rating by fellow partygoers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Dissapointed. I found it to be too dry and tasteless. I followed it step by step, expected more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I love this recipe. I made them for my Hebrew class and they were gone so fast ! The only problem that I had was the bottoms seem to burn. Any tips on that? Also, I used applesauce and mixed cinnamon in the dough, and it turned out real well that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I had never made scones before, but this recipe enticed me. It was super simple and fast to make. Great recipe for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Good recipe...Beginning with the time I placed the plate on the table, 1 and 1/2 batches were gone in 30 minutes!! I added about 1/8th cup more sugar and used a granny smith apple. Next time I'll be cubing the apple instead of shredding and adding a bit of vanilla since the apple was a little lost in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States