Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This was excenlent. Doubled the recipe and made it for 6 picky kids. They lovved it and they were filled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
These have a great taste - we loved them. But I did have to use probably 1/3 cup more flour so I could knead them like it says. Without this extra flour the dough was just like muffin batter - way to sticky to knead. This time I made them I didn't add the extra flour - I just kind of kneaded then with the spoon in the bowl and mounded it on the cookie sheet. They are still in the over - We'll see if they turn out any different. Regardless, I will continue making these. It's great to find a scone recipe without a huge amount of butter or cream. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This recipe was the easiest scone recipe that I have ever used. The scones came out fluffy and absolutely the right sweetness. I served them with our afternoon meal of hot soup and salad and they were a big hit with my husband. It is number one on my guest menu. Have made the scones several times and they are always a success. I did not change any ingredients in the recipe but if you like it sweeter, by all means add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Easy to make and good but the consistency is not truly scone-like; to me they were more muffiny. Be careful when adding the milk; add it by the teaspoon so that it doesn't get too wet; the flour/butter mixture gets plenty wet when the apples are added so you might not need to add much of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
These came out perfectly and my daily loved them! I added just a little more apple to strengthen the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Pretty good, but added 1/4 c milk, double the sugar, and cinnimon/allspice/clove mix to the batter and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
These are excellent, not too sweet scones. Usually, they're loaded with butter/sugar or both - but not these scones!!!I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the batter, 1/2 tsp of vanilla, and 3 tbsp of flax seeds for some fiber. Serve by themselves or with scrambled eggs and sliced cheese, and you have a hearty breakfast!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abrownworth
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe to a T and it was delicious. More cake like than I was hoping for but still very good. I think next time I will add a bit more apple (2 small granny smith's) and a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon to the dry ingredients for a touch more flavor. Or might even try 1/8th cinnamon & 1/8 cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abrownworth
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These are delicious!!!! Best served hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SurferGirl88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Super recipe. I tweeked it a little. After reading a sweet roll recipe where the baker added apple brandy, it gave me the idea of putting something similiar in this recipe. I added a a tbl of apple crisp liqueur. Then, once it was done baking, I immediatly spritzed some more on top. This made the sugar crisp up. Not sure if this added to the recipe but you could taste the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States