Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Not enough flour... Not enough apple... but other than that, a really great recipe :) I added cinnamon to the batter as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Outstanding. I added a bit more sugar and some cinnamon to bring out the apple flavor and they were delicious. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
These were good, but not particularly healthy. I substituted fruit puree for the butter, used twice the amount of apple, and threw in a cup of whole wheat flour- the recipe needed that to really have a scone texture anyway. It comes out a bit better for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I made these tonight, and it was quick and easy, and tasted not too bad. The kids ate it :) I would have loved it to be sweeter with a more apple flavour, but Im sure that will come with practice. the dough was too soft to knead, so I scooped a large table spoon portion and pressed it slightly. It came out perfect in our opinion (good luck to me trying to replicate it twice) But If you try it once and it doesnt come out right...try, try again :) Its a great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Very good. My family loves these apple treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
These came out amazing! I followed the advice of one reviewer and used 1/4 cup buttermilk, instead of the 1/2 cup milk called for. I also added a dash of ginger, zested half a small frozen lemon peel, and substituted a barely ripe peach for the apple. They were just a bit fluffier than I would have liked--more of a coffee cake than a scone--but still delicious with homemade clotted cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
After reading the reviews, I stayed with the recipe on the wet/dry ingredients. Added two small chopped gala apples, and cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice. The first batch didn't seem to be cooked all the way through; second batch I used the combo setting of convection/microwave and it turned out better. I think what's really missing here from the flavor is the butter... I think the better scone recipe to use for a base is this one: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/cranberry-scones-2/detail.aspx Just change out the cranberries for apples and cinnamon. I used splenda instead of sugar in both recipes and it worked fine. Although my husband like these scones I probably won't use this recipe again. The other recipe is so much richer and the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Very yummy and we add whater we feel like at the time...try bacon and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I followed some other reviewers' advice and added a second apple, plus 1/2 tsp cinnamon mixed in with the batter along with 1/4 tsp allspice and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I also used Splenda in place of sugar, whole wheat flour in place of all-purpose, and margarine in place of butter and had no issues. I then sprinkled the top of the 6" circle with a tablespoon of splenda and additional cinnamon, and cut it into 8 scones. I think I might swap some of the flour for oats next time, just to shake things up, but they're still delicious without that particular extra touch. Also, I was in a bit of a fluster when I was making these (long and unrelated story) and added the liquids before I realized I had not yet cut in the margarine. So I cut it in as I simultaneously mixed in the liquids, just moistening the dry. No problems came of my err. A nice, simple recipe, and my kitchen smells so wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This was excenlent. Doubled the recipe and made it for 6 picky kids. They lovved it and they were filled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States