Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Not bad, but not great either. More like cake than scones. A plus could be that these have less fat than scones typically do. Not a whole lot of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Fantastic scones. This is my first scone-making experience and it went well. The scones are very good and decently healthy. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Ok, just a little tip... freeze the butter well, then grate it into the dry ingredients, then mix well... it's easier than cutting it in, and incorporates it easier into the mix. This step takes little effort and maximum results, it's how I always "cut-in" butter to a recipe... Oh yeah, I usually mix it into the dry ingredients by hand, mush it and mix it till combined....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
We had this for desert tonight. Just right - not too sweet. My husband & 3 year old both liked it. I did have to add a little milk to the dough prior to kneading - it was too dry to hold together. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sapient

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grover Hill, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I just made these for the kids for after-school. I'm giving them 4 stars because my picky 6 yr old really liked them. My daughter and I thought they were just okay. Pretty much a sweet biscuit. We agreed that they definitely were better with butter. Couldn't really taste the apple. Will make again if my little one wants me to, otherwise, probably not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
rele nice!;);) i duno do??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I have never made scones, but this recipe was very simple and easy to make. The scones were very light and fluffy, but could use more apple i think. Overall nice low calorie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
In the interest of time I chopped the apple instead of shredding it and used a cookie scoop to make "mini" scones. I rolled them in the cinnamon sugar mixture before baking. A tasty treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
YUM! My son went to the pumpkin patch for a field trip and they got to pick apples so this is what we used them for. They where delicious! the only thing I changed was that I drizzeled them with a simple glaze. My son was so happy that his apples where so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Brown
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
These were excellent and not too sweet. I added about 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice directly to the dough as well. I didn't have any milk and used cream instead, which was marvelous. The dough at first was very, very dry and almost impossible to incorporate all of flour, so I added about 1 Tbsp. plain yogurt to make it a little smoother. I would recommend baking them 11-12 minutes instead of the full 15 to keep them from being crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States