Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Very tasty, but mine turned out more like a coffee cake than a scone. Will definitely try again perhaps using less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
These are wonderful! Per others suggestions, I did sprinkle in a little cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, but otherwise follow the recipe as written. Yummy! My family and I thought they tasted like apple fritters only without the guilt of being deep fried. We're adding this to our favorites! Thanks for a tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I loved these! These are moist and dense and so easy to make. Not too sweet and a great way to use fall apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitSaladYummyYummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This is a great scone recipe. I highly recommend it. I changed the baking powder and added cinnamon and nutmeg into the batter. I did not want to use my milk since I only had enough left until tomorrow so I used half and half. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I added chopped apples instead of shredding them and it really made the flavor pop out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannaford, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
They were ok, a little softer then I thought scones tasted. My husband thought they were good. I think next time I will add cinnamon into the mix as well as on top and cook for a few minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Best scones ever!!! i added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and 1 tsp. vanilla extract and they came out so delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
added more sugar, and cinn., nutmeg, and allspice. I used 2 small whole apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
My dough was way to sticky to pat into a round. I had to add more flour. Overall they taste OK, but I have had much better luck with Grandma Johnson's scones from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Not bad, but not great either. More like cake than scones. A plus could be that these have less fat than scones typically do. Not a whole lot of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States