Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is a good recipe for what it is- light, fluffy, and very, very Starbucks. I usually like classic scones, very dense and craggy with a bit of buttermilk tang. This is more like cake than bread- not really what I want in a scone. If that's what you're looking for this is a good recipe. Not very strong apple taste- maybe add a splash of cider?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
The apple scones turned out pretty good although I made many changes to the recipe. I added a palmful of brown sugar and a bit of vanilla and cinnamon to the batter. I also used light soymilk instead of the milk. I was disappointed that it wasn't very sweet, so I made a cinnamon glaze and drizzled it on each scone. The major problem I had with the scones was that they turned out very cakelike, which was not the texture I was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo cupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This is what real scones should taste like...not the dried out baking powder tasting scones you spend so much for at those coffee places, The recipe is so simple and it tastes soooooo good. I am always asked to bring this to tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was great! I used three chopped Granny Smith apples and the consistency held together very well. I added to the batter cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, and vanilla, but it was too much and didn't taste sweet enough. Next time I will add 1t cinnamon, 1/4t nutmeg, and 1t vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRIPLEBINKIE
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Just ok! I doubt if i will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIPLEBINKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Dry and unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmarie2715

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Good base for scones: but adding 2 teaspoons of cinnamon to the batter, and upping the sugar will produce a better tasting scone in this recipe. Otherwise, good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Not a lot of flavor, not sure if it needs more apple, more cinnamon or more of everything! But decent when you want something to slather butter on and have with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
These were very good, though more moist than the scones I'm used to. More muffin-like. I added cinnamon to the dough as suggested by others, and I used buttermilk instead of regular milk, as that's all I had. Also, I finely chopped the granny-smith apple instead of shredding it, as this seemed easier, and I added raisins for extra sweetness. Yum! Finally, whenever I make scones, I never bother to shape them. I just scoop them out into big blobs on my baking stone, like with lumpy-bumpy biscuits (if you know what I mean by that). Much easier and they taste the same no matter how they look. I will definitely make these again, though probably with regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was nice, but a little bland even though I added extra cinnamon. It made a nice textured scone and was a nice change for the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States