Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
These are great scones! My twist to these already good scones is to increase the sugar to 1/2 c,lactaid milk to 1/2c add 1 tsp Maple flavoring, 1/2 tsp of allspice and forgo the currants. I formed these into individual scones, patted them in flour and then after placing them on baking sheets, sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon. I baked them for approx 12-15 minutes. They were wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Pretty bland. Cakey. Not scone type. It was salvagable with some fruit marmalade. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I also found that reducing the milk was necessary and spice was needed, so I added 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. each of nutmeg and allspice. They were a huge hit! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theriddlefam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This recipe was not good. I had to add almost 3 times as much milk to get a dough. I had to make it for 25 minutes rather than 15. It smelled really good while baking and tasted wonderful but was still a little doughy and left a bad aftertaste. I will be taking this one out of my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Bottom line: these are pretty good. Their flavor isn't going to blow you away, but they have a nice consistency to them. They would be a good side for a Sunday breakfast or brunch. I added cinnamon to the dough, and I got a decent (gentle) flavor out of a fuji apple. (I left the skin on because I hate peeling apples.) I also substituted soy milk, and because I had some "dying" grapes in the fridge, I quartered about 1/4 cup and added them in. (Remember not to stir/kneed too hard! This is not a wine press! lol). I definitely think I'll make them again, but I want to investigate adding nutmeg, and probably allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is a good recipe for what it is- light, fluffy, and very, very Starbucks. I usually like classic scones, very dense and craggy with a bit of buttermilk tang. This is more like cake than bread- not really what I want in a scone. If that's what you're looking for this is a good recipe. Not very strong apple taste- maybe add a splash of cider?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
The apple scones turned out pretty good although I made many changes to the recipe. I added a palmful of brown sugar and a bit of vanilla and cinnamon to the batter. I also used light soymilk instead of the milk. I was disappointed that it wasn't very sweet, so I made a cinnamon glaze and drizzled it on each scone. The major problem I had with the scones was that they turned out very cakelike, which was not the texture I was going for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jo cupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This is what real scones should taste like...not the dried out baking powder tasting scones you spend so much for at those coffee places, The recipe is so simple and it tastes soooooo good. I am always asked to bring this to tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was great! I used three chopped Granny Smith apples and the consistency held together very well. I added to the batter cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, and vanilla, but it was too much and didn't taste sweet enough. Next time I will add 1t cinnamon, 1/4t nutmeg, and 1t vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRIPLEBINKIE
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Just ok! I doubt if i will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIPLEBINKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States