Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Easy to make and good but the consistency is not truly scone-like; to me they were more muffiny. Be careful when adding the milk; add it by the teaspoon so that it doesn't get too wet; the flour/butter mixture gets plenty wet when the apples are added so you might not need to add much of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
These came out perfectly and my daily loved them! I added just a little more apple to strengthen the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Pretty good, but added 1/4 c milk, double the sugar, and cinnimon/allspice/clove mix to the batter and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
These are excellent, not too sweet scones. Usually, they're loaded with butter/sugar or both - but not these scones!!!I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the batter, 1/2 tsp of vanilla, and 3 tbsp of flax seeds for some fiber. Serve by themselves or with scrambled eggs and sliced cheese, and you have a hearty breakfast!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abrownworth
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I followed the recipe to a T and it was delicious. More cake like than I was hoping for but still very good. I think next time I will add a bit more apple (2 small granny smith's) and a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon to the dry ingredients for a touch more flavor. Or might even try 1/8th cinnamon & 1/8 cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abrownworth
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These are delicious!!!! Best served hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SurferGirl88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Super recipe. I tweeked it a little. After reading a sweet roll recipe where the baker added apple brandy, it gave me the idea of putting something similiar in this recipe. I added a a tbl of apple crisp liqueur. Then, once it was done baking, I immediatly spritzed some more on top. This made the sugar crisp up. Not sure if this added to the recipe but you could taste the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
it was delicious. i made one batch this morning. made with 1 and 1/2 cups chopped apples with a generous tsp of cinnamon. fragrant in the oven and came out looking good. small batch. good for making fresh for just a couple of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbreadmachine
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great recipe, but I made a few changes. A few reviews said the apple flavor gets lost, so i did a fine dice rather than shred. I also added a splash of Jameson irish whiskey for flavor... you could probably do vanilla or almond extract. I also mixed the cinnamon and sugar together before sprinkling it over the scones. These are really simple, and the flavoring is suttle, but these are really great, especially with a good-sized dab of butter on them right after they come out of the oven :) Cheers, and happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrimsonJewel

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
After reading the other reviews I have to agree that the batter needed extra moisture. I made half a batch and used one apple roughly chopped to the batter. I also added a little cinnamon and additional milk to the batter just until the mixture held together. For my personal tastes, I would have preferred the scone to be a little sweeter but it was still very good for our morning coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States