Apple Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
too chewy, no apple flavor..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portage, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
these scones with a few minor changes were excellent, I cook for some kids with lactose intolerance i used vanilla enriched rice milk doubled the butter to make up for the loss of milk fats and made a spread out of cream cheese brown sugar nutmeg and folded in a little whip cream . they were a huge hit try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
my best friend just loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Great recipe! I added a dash of cinnamon to the dough in addition to what gets sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
My second favorite scone recipe. I do adjust 1 cup white and 1 cup wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I made these following the exact recipe. I thought they were too salty. Otherwise, the consistency was good. There was a nice mild apple taste but could not get past the salt. Next time I would halve the amount of salt or omit altogether and add some cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herscher, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
My experience with these wasn't as good as I expected. They can out really moist almost like a biscuit. There wasn't much apple flavor even though I used fresh baking apples from the orchard. I probably won't make these again. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Not great. Followed some suggestions by other reviewers, but still found them bland at best. Had to give them some taste by using a lot of Jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
These were good but a little bland. They could've used more apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
So good! Added just a little more sugar and used a Granny Smith apple. I used less than 1/2c milk, just enough to make it stick together. Dough was sticky but workable. I also added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. These scones were divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary F

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States