Apple Sausage Wagon Wheel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda Trem
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I rally liked this. The batter tasted a bit odd, but the finished product is very good and different. I used a spicy Cajun chicken sausage as I like the contrast of apples with some heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Def. Add cinnamon! I used a box of frozen banquet turkey breakfast sausage links.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I love this recipe!!! I make it every year when we come home from apple picking. The only thing I do different is I layer the apples and batter. The first time I made it I didn't like how the bread was so thick on top. This does create a longer cook time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This was good...but if I was going to make it again I'd add more "stuff" - definitely more apples & sausage, maybe some cut up potatoes or pieces of onion. I really liked it for breakfast more than I liked it for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
My family LOVED this. I made it exactly as written. The only problem I had was with the apples and the cooking time. The apples were making this so wet on the bottom that it took nearly an hour to cook. I will make it again but I will probably dice the apples and stir them in to distribute the juices more evenly, or perhaps sautee them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
We LOVED this!! It will be a regular "after church on Sunday" lunch - it is quick and filling with a healthy kick. Do yourself a favor and melt some butter in your baking dish as your oven is preheating... then add your apples and sausage while still hot. Other than that, I think this is the first recipe I haven't been able to imagine addor subtracting ANYTHING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
The batter for this recipe has a very good flavor, my kids loved it, and I loved the ease of the recipe and that it is a one dish meal. The downfall would be that the three main items-apple, sausage, and batter don't really blend well. They don't add flavor to each other and actually the flavor of the apples and sausage seem to get lost. I didn't have buttermilk, but used the substitution, and I sprinkled cinnamon/sugar on top of the batter. It smelled heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
We loved this! I doubled it and made it in a 9X13 pan. It has to cook a bit longer but it was worth it. My husband took the whole thing to work and only a little came back, which I was glad because I enjoyed heating it up the next day and so did my 2 year old! It is heavy and sweet.. which I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipes, although I changed it significantly, according to what I had in the house. First I sprinkled cinnamon over the apples and sausage. I didn't have enough brown sugar so I topped it off with white and a spoonful of molasses. And I used regular milk. I had to cook it longer than suggested - closer to 40m. But my boyfriend and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This recipe was really hard to swallow...literally. It was dificult to get past the mixture of ingredients, but tasted good. I think the combination made it hard to not think about what you were eating and enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEENBEAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States