Apple Sausage Wagon Wheel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
We LOVED this!! It will be a regular "after church on Sunday" lunch - it is quick and filling with a healthy kick. Do yourself a favor and melt some butter in your baking dish as your oven is preheating... then add your apples and sausage while still hot. Other than that, I think this is the first recipe I haven't been able to imagine addor subtracting ANYTHING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I love this recipe!!! I make it every year when we come home from apple picking. The only thing I do different is I layer the apples and batter. The first time I made it I didn't like how the bread was so thick on top. This does create a longer cook time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
We loved this! I doubled it and made it in a 9X13 pan. It has to cook a bit longer but it was worth it. My husband took the whole thing to work and only a little came back, which I was glad because I enjoyed heating it up the next day and so did my 2 year old! It is heavy and sweet.. which I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
Delicious and very easy to make. I used regular flour and smoked sausage and it is still very good. Great dish for Sunday mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
This stuff is GREAT! My children loved it...even cold leftovers from the fridge were a hit with them. I used turkey smoked breakfast sausage and it was incredible...any kind of apples tasted good too. This is SO EASY and man what a flavor...the sweet of the apples with the salt of the meat...wow!!! It was really good. It really is a wonderful breakfast or brunch dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
Turned out great & it was pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
What a great and simple recipe! I substituted 5 vegetarian Boca smoked sausages for the real sausage and it turned out just great! I did have to bake mine for a little longer than 25 minutes to get it done in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This recipe was great and easy. The only thing I changed was I used regular milk instead of buttermilk. My 3 and 5 year olds refused to eat it, but I loved it and so did my husband. This also is one of those things you could make ahead and heat up on a busy morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
My family LOVED this. I made it exactly as written. The only problem I had was with the apples and the cooking time. The apples were making this so wet on the bottom that it took nearly an hour to cook. I will make it again but I will probably dice the apples and stir them in to distribute the juices more evenly, or perhaps sautee them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Def. Add cinnamon! I used a box of frozen banquet turkey breakfast sausage links.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States