Apple Sausage Wagon Wheel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2001
This stuff is GREAT! My children loved it...even cold leftovers from the fridge were a hit with them. I used turkey smoked breakfast sausage and it was incredible...any kind of apples tasted good too. This is SO EASY and man what a flavor...the sweet of the apples with the salt of the meat...wow!!! It was really good. It really is a wonderful breakfast or brunch dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
Delicious and very easy to make. I used regular flour and smoked sausage and it is still very good. Great dish for Sunday mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipes, although I changed it significantly, according to what I had in the house. First I sprinkled cinnamon over the apples and sausage. I didn't have enough brown sugar so I topped it off with white and a spoonful of molasses. And I used regular milk. I had to cook it longer than suggested - closer to 40m. But my boyfriend and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
We LOVED this!! It will be a regular "after church on Sunday" lunch - it is quick and filling with a healthy kick. Do yourself a favor and melt some butter in your baking dish as your oven is preheating... then add your apples and sausage while still hot. Other than that, I think this is the first recipe I haven't been able to imagine addor subtracting ANYTHING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This recipe was really hard to swallow...literally. It was dificult to get past the mixture of ingredients, but tasted good. I think the combination made it hard to not think about what you were eating and enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEENBEAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This one was not a big hit with the family. I kinda liked it. I think it may have been too much off of our regular menu. I had too many leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
It was a little too sweet for my tastes, although the kids liked it. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
What a great and simple recipe! I substituted 5 vegetarian Boca smoked sausages for the real sausage and it turned out just great! I did have to bake mine for a little longer than 25 minutes to get it done in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
The batter for this recipe has a very good flavor, my kids loved it, and I loved the ease of the recipe and that it is a one dish meal. The downfall would be that the three main items-apple, sausage, and batter don't really blend well. They don't add flavor to each other and actually the flavor of the apples and sausage seem to get lost. I didn't have buttermilk, but used the substitution, and I sprinkled cinnamon/sugar on top of the batter. It smelled heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
Interesting recipe. I made this for a brunch buffet and had alot leftover. This is good but very heavy. A little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States