Apple Sausage Wagon Wheel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Def. Add cinnamon! I used a box of frozen banquet turkey breakfast sausage links.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I love this recipe!!! I make it every year when we come home from apple picking. The only thing I do different is I layer the apples and batter. The first time I made it I didn't like how the bread was so thick on top. This does create a longer cook time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This was good...but if I was going to make it again I'd add more "stuff" - definitely more apples & sausage, maybe some cut up potatoes or pieces of onion. I really liked it for breakfast more than I liked it for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
My family LOVED this. I made it exactly as written. The only problem I had was with the apples and the cooking time. The apples were making this so wet on the bottom that it took nearly an hour to cook. I will make it again but I will probably dice the apples and stir them in to distribute the juices more evenly, or perhaps sautee them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
We LOVED this!! It will be a regular "after church on Sunday" lunch - it is quick and filling with a healthy kick. Do yourself a favor and melt some butter in your baking dish as your oven is preheating... then add your apples and sausage while still hot. Other than that, I think this is the first recipe I haven't been able to imagine addor subtracting ANYTHING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
The batter for this recipe has a very good flavor, my kids loved it, and I loved the ease of the recipe and that it is a one dish meal. The downfall would be that the three main items-apple, sausage, and batter don't really blend well. They don't add flavor to each other and actually the flavor of the apples and sausage seem to get lost. I didn't have buttermilk, but used the substitution, and I sprinkled cinnamon/sugar on top of the batter. It smelled heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
We loved this! I doubled it and made it in a 9X13 pan. It has to cook a bit longer but it was worth it. My husband took the whole thing to work and only a little came back, which I was glad because I enjoyed heating it up the next day and so did my 2 year old! It is heavy and sweet.. which I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipes, although I changed it significantly, according to what I had in the house. First I sprinkled cinnamon over the apples and sausage. I didn't have enough brown sugar so I topped it off with white and a spoonful of molasses. And I used regular milk. I had to cook it longer than suggested - closer to 40m. But my boyfriend and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This recipe was really hard to swallow...literally. It was dificult to get past the mixture of ingredients, but tasted good. I think the combination made it hard to not think about what you were eating and enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEENBEAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This one was not a big hit with the family. I kinda liked it. I think it may have been too much off of our regular menu. I had too many leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States