Apple, Sausage, Bacon, and Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
We served this for a special dinner, and it was a big hit! Everyone commented on the great flavor! I made it pretty much exactly as specified (but I don't really measure) and we really enjoyed it. We'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY BIRKNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Nothing but compliments! It was absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Haven't made this recipe but it sounds a lot like the one I make. Instead of the cream of chicken soup - I use cream of mushroom soup. Instead of the bread cubes I buy a packaged unseasoned stuffing mix and use the seasoning packet sparingly (I believe the spices are similar to yours). Also,for the meat portion I use Hawaiian Portuguese Sausage and add golden raisins. Instead of the applesauce I dice Fuji apples. A retired firefighter gave me this recipe a long time ago - I have never made any other stuffing and am always asked to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I am not a stuffing fan, but when I found this recipe I thought it was worth a shot. I, along with my entire family LOVE this stuffing. It is so full of flavor. It could be a meal in itself. My kids even like this. HINT: I used a 14 oz bag of dry bread cubes, once with plain and once with seasoned and BOTH were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Excellent we love it. Prep time took a bit - defiantely more than listed and I was not sure if I should have the bacon precooked before adding or not. I used sage sausage and sage onion stuffing cubes so didn't add he sage. I also added a few handfuls of fresh baby spinach after the apples and water chesnuts. I doubled the recipe and used one can cream of chicken and mushroom and one can of cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is the third year making this stuffing. I thought I had lost the recipe. This made me a turkey stuffing pro when I made this. It was a major hit. Great mixture of flavor. It will all be gone before the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was the first time I have used this recipe and it was a HUGE hit. Not one ounce was left over (Ill make more next time!). Next time I am going to add one more (Granny Smith) apple as I loved the texture and the sour kick it added to the sweetness of the meats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
loved it! Definately glad I had a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I put this stuffing in cupcake tins and they came out wonderful. I tried it at Thanksgiving and I forgot to add the apple sauce and it came it just fine. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlnavarr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was an excellent stuffing recipe. I feel quilty only giving 4 stars, but I'm just not a huge stuffing fan. I chose this because my family loves mushrooms. For stuffing, it couldn't be any better. I used straight sausage, about 3/4 pounds because that's what I had leftover from another recipe. I skipped the apples and applesauce all together, I don't like fruits with veggies in a recipe. I didn't quite dump in the entire pound of dry bread, cause I was afraid of dry stuffing. It turned out great. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States