Apple, Sausage, Bacon, and Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I was SO excited to try a new dressing recipe and chose this one. We were all very disappointed. None of us LOVE bacon and the bacon flavor is overwhelming. If you LOVE bacon, go for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
We found this stuffing to be wonderful, not overwhelming bacon favored at all as stated before. My only suggestion is use low-fat meats and trim the fat from the bacon to ensure that is not greasy. I used this to make stuffed porkchops and we really loved the flavor it added to the pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
We served this for a special dinner, and it was a big hit! Everyone commented on the great flavor! I made it pretty much exactly as specified (but I don't really measure) and we really enjoyed it. We'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY BIRKNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Haven't made this recipe but it sounds a lot like the one I make. Instead of the cream of chicken soup - I use cream of mushroom soup. Instead of the bread cubes I buy a packaged unseasoned stuffing mix and use the seasoning packet sparingly (I believe the spices are similar to yours). Also,for the meat portion I use Hawaiian Portuguese Sausage and add golden raisins. Instead of the applesauce I dice Fuji apples. A retired firefighter gave me this recipe a long time ago - I have never made any other stuffing and am always asked to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Nothing but compliments! It was absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I am not a stuffing fan, but when I found this recipe I thought it was worth a shot. I, along with my entire family LOVE this stuffing. It is so full of flavor. It could be a meal in itself. My kids even like this. HINT: I used a 14 oz bag of dry bread cubes, once with plain and once with seasoned and BOTH were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was an excellent stuffing recipe. I feel quilty only giving 4 stars, but I'm just not a huge stuffing fan. I chose this because my family loves mushrooms. For stuffing, it couldn't be any better. I used straight sausage, about 3/4 pounds because that's what I had leftover from another recipe. I skipped the apples and applesauce all together, I don't like fruits with veggies in a recipe. I didn't quite dump in the entire pound of dry bread, cause I was afraid of dry stuffing. It turned out great. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
My husband and I have been trying out stuffing recipes for Thanksgiving. We tried this one and although we like it, it just has too much meat it in. The meat flavor takes over and you don't taste the traditional stuffing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is the third year making this stuffing. I thought I had lost the recipe. This made me a turkey stuffing pro when I made this. It was a major hit. Great mixture of flavor. It will all be gone before the end of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This was the first time I have used this recipe and it was a HUGE hit. Not one ounce was left over (Ill make more next time!). Next time I am going to add one more (Granny Smith) apple as I loved the texture and the sour kick it added to the sweetness of the meats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States