Apple-Rosemary Blue Cheese Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
The flavor of these is AMAZING. If you're not a blue cheese lover perhaps these aren't the appetizer for you (but, then, you wouldn't be investigating this recipe if you didn't like blue cheese, would you?). I was skeptical of the amount of filling/apple compared to the sixteen really skinny crescent rolls but it worked out just right. Also, if you're tempted to make extra filling, as I always do because I like lots of "stuff" in my recipes, don't. I made extra and had too much. The amount the recipe lists is the right amount. I didn't make any changes to the recipe and they were perfect. The filling is thick enough that it will not bleed all over your baking pan from the open rolls and the apples bake to soft; but not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
With a couple changes, these were a big hit! For the filling, I used 4 oz cream cheese and two tablespoons chunky blue cheese dressing instead of the crumbled blue cheese. I also used fresh rosemary and left out the pecans (my guests were not nut fans). A great fall appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I modified this slightly. I didn't have rosemary, so I used thyme. I chopped one apple and added it to the rest of the filling. I sealed the corners of the crescent so that it formed a little ball. These were fast, very tasty and not too heavy. The strongest flavor is the blue cheese, so I would recommend this to blue cheese lovers only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
A really good flavor combo, but the taste was too strong. Blue cheese is my salad dressing of choice so I obviously like the flavor. I would make them again, but cut back on the blue cheese. I would also chop the apple up and mix it in. The 'assembly' on these took too long and was awkward. With the apples chopped up, you can pinch the rolls into little baskets like crab puffs. Much easier, just as appealing, and less messy when you bake. (The cheese runs everywhere!) Kudos on the flavor combo though. The rich and flaky roll, the tang and zest of teh blue cheese, and the fresh sweetness of the apples is a great contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcshoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
After all the 5 5tar reviews I read, I was disappointed. Made it exactly as written but it was just so-so---definitly not a show-stopper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I loved the recipe as written; however, if you or someone in your party doesn't care for blue cheese, or feels it is too strong, try exchanging part or all of the blue cheese for feta or cheddar. I have also made the recipe with half blue cheese & half feta, all feta, and half blue cheese & half cheddar. I also substituted walnuts after I ran out of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
We didn't like the blend of the flavors, even though we love blue cheese, rosemary, and apples. Thanks anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Wow! We have made these 3 times and they are always gone in minutes! Everyone wants the recipe. I think we may add chopped Craisins next time for a little more dimension and flavor. I like it best with fresh rosemary diced really fine. The flavor just pops better than the dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was a huge hit at my party. Even guests that didn't care for blue cheese enjoyed this appetizer. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
These are ver good but way to much blue cheese. The second time I made it I cut the cheese in half and that was perfect. Very interesting combo of flavors. WARNING- you have to like the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kemmerer, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Fig Brulee with Burrata Cheese

See how to make a quick and easy “burnt” fig appetizer.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States