Apple-Raspberry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This was good - but with the changes I made. I doubled the recipe. The recipe only calls for the brown sugar to be added to the fruit and none to the crisp. I just added the tbsp. of flour to the crisp and the brown sugar - which I reduced a bit to the crisp topping. I also followed a review and kept the margarine (i used smart balance - non-heydrogenated margarine)and did not melt it - in order to ensure a crisp - crisp! (I cut down on the margarine a bit as well - incorperated it until slightly damp and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I made this recipe as without substitution. I knew that it wasn't going to taste like my usual crisp (in which I use more oatmeal and I put the sugar in the crisp) but I was open to trying something new. And I LOVE it. An open mind is the only ingredient missing from the original post. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I only used one large granny smith apple. I also used two pints of fresh dorman red raspberries, and about 1 1/2 cupst of frozen rhubarb chunks. Everything else I kept pretty much the same as the recipe. I did add a bit more oats, because once you add the melted butter, it's mush, not crumble for the topping. Adding more dry oats helped it crumble and spread over the top more evenly. My family LOVED this. From a 19 month old up to my 10 year old, and my dad who was visiting. We served it warm with vanilla ice cream. A BIG hit. The kids asked me to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
The leftovers were better than the first night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I followed the recipe and made the crisp according to the suggestions made previously to add extra brown sugar and NOT melt the butter. It came out great, nice and crumbly. Unfortunately, my only complaint is that the apple raspberry filling was tasty, but runny. I don't remember reading where any one else experienced this, so I guess that it was something I did. The dish, however, tasted wonderful. I'll certainly try it again. Note: I mixed a little corn starch with the excess liquid and baked an extra 5 minutes. This "thickened up" the filling a bit. It still was a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Absolutely wonderful! I used frozen raspberries in syrup, so I decreased the amount of sugar added to the apple/raspberry mixture. The syrup made the mixture a lot soupier, so it wasn't really a traditional apple crisp texture, but in my opinion it was even better. Because of the extra liquid, I raised the oven temperature for the last 20 minutes to 400 degrees. Based on the other reviews, I ignored the crisp topping in the recipe and used another recipe for the crisp part. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Really good recipe and got a request to make another one for a pot luck next week. Was a bit runny, but didn't matter when topped with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
The apples and raspberries were fantastic. The crisp was bland. I will add sugar into the crisp next time. Otherwise, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Em

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This was absolutely delicious. The raspberries added a little tart to the sweet apples! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I made this for a family dinner and it was fantastic with vanilla ice cream. I increased the recipe by 3 and followed the suggestions of the previous review that added brown sugar to the apples and cut the butter into the topping mix instead of melting it first. It really made an excellent topping. The raspberries gave it a nice tartness to the dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States