Apple-Raspberry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Since posting this recipe, I see there was an error to the pan size I used to make this desert. Be sure to use an 8x8-inch baking pan. (Mine was also a Teflon coated pan.) Also, when mixing the brown sugar with the tablespoon of flour, be sure to just use a 1/2 cup of the sugar. Mix the remaining 1/2 cup of brown sugar along with the oats, the 1/2 cup of flour, the cinnamon, and salt. Continue preparing the recipe by adding in the melted butter, and stir until mixture is crumbly. After baking the desert, I let it sit to cool for (about) 1 to 1-1/2 hours. This desert can also be served with vanilla ice cream or with Cool Whip or Reddi Wip Whipped Topping. This recipe yields: 1-8x8 inch dish, or 5-6 servings. One more thing... you can substitute quick oats for the old fashioned oats, and about the apples, be sure to use 2-1/2 lbs. of Granny Smith Apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Loved this. Followed other suggestions and cut back on the sugar in the apples and added it to the oatmeal mixture. Also did not melt the butter as suggested. Top with vanilla ice cream and it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Doubled the recipe to make three small crisps, one to keep and two to give away. Used the ideas from previous posts to make sure crust turned out right- and it worked. Basically used Hal the sugar and a tablespoon of flour in the berry apple mix and the other Half in the other ingredients, including cutting in cold butter, for the topping. Baked at 350 for 45 minutes and crisps were perfectly done and delicious. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I had never seen a recipe without sugar in the crisp, so I changed it by adding 1/2 cup to the fruit mix and the other half cup to the crisp mix. Also decreased the butter called for to 5 tablespoons and cut it in, not melted, and it turned out fantastic. I also subbed 1/2 cup blueberries and 1/2 cup blackberries (which is what I had in the freezer), and with the modifications it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Easy to put together & husband loved it. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I made this recipe for dessert tonight for Father's Day and everyone loved it! I basically followed the recipe as written, but like most have said, I added half cup of brown sugar to the fruit mixture and half cup to the topping mixture. Only problem was, it was a bit too sweet. I may only add a quarter cup to the fruit next time and half cup to the topping. Also, I'd like to try fresh raspberries. Last, I'd like to double the servings, since it was six adults and I think my brother could have probably ate the whole crisp himself. :) Thank you for a different dessert to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
OMG! I made this three times now and every time, not a drop left on the plate. I followed the recipe exactly. It was deliciouso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nansweetnan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haslett, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Delicious!! Easy and delicious flavor! Taste like razzle-dazzle pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made this with apples and blackberries. It was the only "crisp" recipe I've used that had the sugar in the filling and not in the "crisp". While it was OK I much prefer the sweetness in the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This really was not for me. I made this a month or two ago, and froze it. I didn't taste it then in case I was going to bring it somewhere. I am glad I didn't. I defrosted it in the fridge for about 2 days. It was horribly runny and extremely tart. The crumble tasted awful with the cinnamon, I think there was too much. The flavors did not balance at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States