Apple-Raspberry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Mmmmm mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
4 stars for the apple-raspberry part, as that was very tasty. However the crisp part was very bland, which may have been my fault because I added more flour as it was a big mushy mess. If I try it again, I will add the sugar to the crisp part as the previous reviewer suggested. I also used mixed berries (blue, straw & rasp) and that went great with Breyers vanilla ice cream. Thanks for the sweets Cindi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This recipe was great! But, I did make some changes. I decreased the amount of Brown Sugar mixed into the fruit to 3/4 Cup. The CRISP mixture I thought was odd. All other crisps I have ever made had sugar in that part of the recipe. I made it as directed (melted butter and no sugar) and it was mushy, tasted horrible. and was not crumbly as it says on the recipe. So I threw that whole mess away and started the CRISP part over. I used the exact same ingredients and added 1/2 Cup Brown Sugar to the CRISP mixture and DID NOT melt the butter. The mixture then did get crumbly and when baked it was VERY CRISP. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
This was good, but without the crisp, it can't be great in my book. Also, I would add a little more flour to the apple-raspberry mixture; the final product was too thin. I agree other reviewers that the raspberries are a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This was a good crisp - the raspberries were a great idea. Next time I will use less brown sugar- it was awfully sweet and syrupy. Also, I used a full container of raspberries (I believe it was 6 oz) which is more than a cup and used an 8x8 pan instead of a 9x9, so it was pretty full of fruit - made 4 large servings. I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white flour for the topping and you couldn't tell the difference (sneak in a little extra nutrition!). I agree that the topping wasn't really crunchy either. I'd make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Very tasty!! The topping didn't turn out as crispy as I would have liked. Overall pretty good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Correction: The butter is melted in this recipe, and is stirred into the flour and oat mixture, not cut in as previously published.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
This crisp tasted rich and good; I liked the brown sugar instead of white. The instructions say to cut in butter which has been melted (?) -so I did not melt it but cut it in cold. The fruit did not quite fill the pan enough, so I recommend using at least one more apple. Also, the oats were a little tough and distracted from the topping. I love apple crisp, and adding raspberries makes a nice change from the "usual". Topping does not actually get very "crispy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Delicious! I added some extra raspberries and put in fewer apples. A little too much cinnamon in the topping. Definitely something I'll make again. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States