Apple-Raspberry Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This really was not for me. I made this a month or two ago, and froze it. I didn't taste it then in case I was going to bring it somewhere. I am glad I didn't. I defrosted it in the fridge for about 2 days. It was horribly runny and extremely tart. The crumble tasted awful with the cinnamon, I think there was too much. The flavors did not balance at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Very GOOD! BUT I had to double the topping because what the recipe called for only covered 1/2 my apple mixture,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Awesome with a cpl changes...I reduced the sugar on the fruit by about 1/3 c. I added !/2 c b.sugar to the topping and did not melt the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nammypammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlantic, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Good - but afer reading all the reviews...mixed the topping into the apple/rasp. and brown sugar mixture after baking.....that took care of it being runny and also made the botton fruit part not so sweet and the top part not so bland......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Too sweet if recipe is followed. Use 1/2 sugar with apples, then add sugar to the crisp mix, along with chopped walnuts. Extra raspberries work too. I cut butter in cold to the crumble mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
The fruit in this was very good but the crisp part was not. The topping DID NOT need the salt. I added more brown sugar and less flour. Sorry, but i won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
it was the BEST!!!the apple-raseberry flavour was really sumtin'only a few changes: 1- half a tsp cinn. in the apples/raseberries 2-half a cup brown sugar in the crumble to make it "crisper" it was so good! will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I modified this quite a bit - used 1.5 pounds frozen mixed berries, no apples - kept the juice left from defrosting and added 1/2 cup agave nectar and 1/8 cup cornstarch. For the topping I chopped pecans and walnuts, 1/2 cup each, and combined with oats, whole wheat flour, cinnamon, salt, and substituted unsweetened applesauce for the butter. I baked it for only 25 minutes, and it was nice and thick, and the nuts were slightly toasted. Loved it! Next time when I have apples, I'll try it with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I just used 1 cup brown sugar, but split it between the apples and the topping. The flavor is wonderful. I didn't have Granny's, so I used what I had on hand, which happened to be a sauce apple. I am a lazy cook (Ok, not really, just a busy cook with a 9 month old to entertain) so I didn't even bother peeling the apples. Everyone at our house is just happy to have dessert, so no one is complaining. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Berry Crisp

Follow these simple steps to make a classic, all-American dessert.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Chef John's Blackberry Crisp

See how to turn fresh blackberries into a sweet, super-easy fruit crisp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States