Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
We LOVE this. I serve it when I have overnight guests and haven't found one person who doesn't like it. I've had a gastric bypass and to bump up the protein content, I have added 2 eggs. I may try to add a 3rd next time. We like it better with the extra eggs. I also use the lower fat cream cheese. Since I don't like raisins, I use Cinnabon cinnamon bread. Oh and this freezes great. If it's just my husband and I, I would have to throw it out before we could finish it. I just cut it into individual pieces and feeze it in separate containers. The other thing i do is put apples on 12 and on the other have, at a friend's suggestion, I use frozen wild blueberries. I get these at Trader Joes or Albertsons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I made this for our church brunch and it was a total hit! I took some of the previous reviewers suggestions and added cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla. Instead of spreading the cream cheese on the bread, I whipped the cream cheese with vanilla then added the egg and half & half. I completely forgot to add the butter, but it didn't really need it. My hubby and picky kids loved it! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mquist71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I'll admit up front that I don't follow this recipe very exactly, but it's so adaptable, I'm giving it 5 stars for sheer flexibility. First, I always use whole grains in my cooking, so I use plain whole wheat bread, which I leave in whole slices and spread with honey nut cream cheese, placing half the slices on the bottom of the dish and half on top of the apple layer. Then I add raisins with the apples, sprinkling cinnamon and brown sugar on them. I use plain old skim milk and skip the melted butter, just using enough butter to grease the baking dish. Because I don't measure exactly and sometimes adjust the amount of eggs, milk, and bread according to the number of people I'm serving, I get slightly different results all the time, but it's ALWAYS extremely tasty. So glad I could add this dish to my breakfast rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
We enjoyed this so much and so did our out of town company. I used Trader Joe's cinnamon swirl bread as I do not care for raisins. Also made half a recipe using 2 eggs and egg substitute for 2 eggs. Also used peaches, fat free cream cheese and 1% milk for much less grams of fat and it tasted just wonderful. The house smelled so good when it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
A few changes: 6 eggs, 2 cups whole milk, honey instead of maple syrup. Turned out firm and not runny. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Made this for my Sunday School Class. It was super simple and great to make the night before. I cubed the cinnamon bread on the bottom, but placed the slices on top, overlapping just slightly. Then sprinkled with powdered sugar, and served with warm maple syrup. Made a nice presentation. I got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidsmom
Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I plan on cooking this for tomorrow with the added suggestions of vanilla, etc. I wanted to make a suggestion to people who think this is too soggy. Prepare the strata the night before. Cover with plastic wrap. Your bread should be day-old (left out overnight to dry or dried in the oven). Put a couple of 1lb. bags of dried beans or rice in a ziptop bag and put them on top of the strata. Let sit in the fridge on a tray overnight. Your bread will soak up all of the moisture and your strata will not be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Great recipe! I usually make it the night before and just pop it in the oven while I'm getting ready. I like to spread the cream and cheese on the bread then cut up the bread slices in cubes ( that means I end up using less than 8 oz). Also I used less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Corza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I took other's suggestions and reduced eggs to 6, added some vanilla to eggs, added brown sugar, cinnamon and vanilla to the cream cheese and spread it on the slices of bread prior to cubing them and upped the oven temp to 350. My oven thermometer confirmed the temp of the oven so I know that was OK but even after 90 MINUTES in the oven this was just a soggy mush in the middle with the substance of tapioca. I can not imagine what it would have been like if I had used 8 eggs! I finally took it out and microwaved individual servings to get it to set up better. It was edible. After sitting for the 1/2 hour that we ate it set up a little more but not much. This got a unanimous 2-thumbs down from me, my husband, daughter, mother and 2-year old granddaughter who usually eats anything. I will definitely NOT be making this again. I would like to know how this ever came to look like the picture as I made it as listed but with LESS liquid! No way would I have gotten a "slice" out as pictured above. If I could have rated 0 stars I would have but we'll say that the 1 star is for the fact that it smells divine while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
DELICIOUS!!! I made this for a church event and got so many compliments on it. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States