Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I've never tried to make anything like this and have to say it was worth it! I used sunmaide cinnamon raisin bread. I spread each slice with cream cheese before cutting it into 9 sections and actually had trouble using all of the cream cheese. I only had 6 eggs and 2c of cream but it was just perfect. It puffs up quite a bit when it bakes but then sinks down again. I baked it uncovered for an hour. It definitely is better served with lots of syrup. Next time I will try adding some chopped nuts. Very delicious breakfast bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this for a breakfast at work. It was a HUGE hit. The only changes I made were I added another half pound loaf of the bread and substituted 1 cup of whole milk. I also found it needed to bake longer than indicated, so give your self some wiggle time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
DELISH! Went super fast! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Good recipe, however I found that cooking time should be increased by about 30 mins otherwise the strata comes out soggy and make sure the caserole pan is NOT covered - it needs to breath as it cooks... A couple of changes I made was: substituted Store brand cinnamon-Raisin bagels instead of the raisin bread - the texture holds together better, added about a tablespoon of cinnamon and a cup of raisins to the middle layer. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I've made this twice and it is truly delicious and easy to put together. My hubby loves it and now I'm going to make it for a Valentine's day brunch with my in laws. I'm sure they'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Made this for Christmas Morning Easiest Brunch I have ever made I actually got to enjoy The morning with the Grandkids and the leftovers were great the next morning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I made this for breakfast the other day and it was DELICIOUS!!! Who knew all those ingredients combined could make such a great dish! I did add extra raisins because I just love them and really didn't need to add much syrup because it is pretty sweet by itself. The only thing I would change next time is to cut the cream cheese into even smaller pieces. Mine were a bit big, but it was still really good! Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Had this for Christmas morning brunch. Everyone loved it. I did use an Italian bread w/ raisins, dried cranberries and almonds. The texture of the almonds added something extra that we really enjoyed alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
WOW!!!!! This is an incredible recipe! It's become our new holiday staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Excellent! I made it for a New Years Day Brunch & everyone loved it! (I didn't have extra raisins so I added Cranraisins.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States