Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was a hit at my Easter brunch. Made some simple changes, added enough apples to cover the pan, used the whole slice of bread instead of cubes, added a tsp of vanilla extract to the egg mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this for Easter breakfast, and I so wanted to like it, unfortunately it was very bland. Might try making it again and adding more cinnamon etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
As written, this was a gooey mess. We ate off the top, but the rest went to the chickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REALCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This has been a crowd pleaser whenever I bring it to a brunch. Modifications- I beat the cream cheese w/ a hand mixer, add in 2tsp of vanilla extract and a tsp of cinnamon. I also use whole slices of bread and I spread the cream cheese mix on top of each slice as a previous reviewer said. I use the Cinnibon bread and golden raisins, it's amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlingnicky
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Not much flavor going on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I've never tried to make anything like this and have to say it was worth it! I used sunmaide cinnamon raisin bread. I spread each slice with cream cheese before cutting it into 9 sections and actually had trouble using all of the cream cheese. I only had 6 eggs and 2c of cream but it was just perfect. It puffs up quite a bit when it bakes but then sinks down again. I baked it uncovered for an hour. It definitely is better served with lots of syrup. Next time I will try adding some chopped nuts. Very delicious breakfast bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this for a breakfast at work. It was a HUGE hit. The only changes I made were I added another half pound loaf of the bread and substituted 1 cup of whole milk. I also found it needed to bake longer than indicated, so give your self some wiggle time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
DELISH! Went super fast! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Good recipe, however I found that cooking time should be increased by about 30 mins otherwise the strata comes out soggy and make sure the caserole pan is NOT covered - it needs to breath as it cooks... A couple of changes I made was: substituted Store brand cinnamon-Raisin bagels instead of the raisin bread - the texture holds together better, added about a tablespoon of cinnamon and a cup of raisins to the middle layer. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I've made this twice and it is truly delicious and easy to put together. My hubby loves it and now I'm going to make it for a Valentine's day brunch with my in laws. I'm sure they'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States