Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
very good. Cooked much longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
No one in my family could eat this Better luck next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this for Christmas brunch and it turned out great. I used Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Swirl bread. I mixed fat-free cream cheese with a tsp each of cinnamon and vanilla and spread the mixture on the bread before cubing it. I used 2 large rome apples and a generous sprinkle of raisins. I cut the butter to 4 Tbsp. and added 1 tsp each of cinnamon and vanilla and fat-free half and half to the egg mixture. I soaked the strata overnight the refrigerator and weighed it down with bags of beans as suggested. It was neither too soggy nor dry I forgot to add the syrup to the eggs so I poured 1/3 cup over the top before baking and that was fine. I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is a tradition in our home for close to ten years. I make this every Christmas Eve, so that when we wake up Christmas morning, I pop this in the oven, and by the time the presents are done, breakfast is ready (or close enough!). The only changes I have made over the years is that, it's Christmas, I use heavy cream!! We skip all raisins, (DH, not a super fan) and we ADD cooked, crumbled, maple sausage. SO YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Quite a hit with guests! It took some time, but I spread each slice of bread with cream cheese then broke it up. Seriously delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I over cooked a apple cake that came out dry, I did not want to waste it as the flavor was real good. I made this strada with the cake instead of bread and since it was already frosted with cream cheese frosting I did not have to add that either. Came out AWESOME..... Mix it up with what you have on hand. Leftover banana bread would be good, going to try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Trust me, you will not be disappointed. I was worried when I saw some of the reviews. I added the apple pie filling and vanilla as suggested, not as much creme cheese, and left the rest as is. It is delish. The staff at my school loved it, and the whole thing was gone in a matter of minutes. I will use this recipe again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I have to say that I wasn't overwhelmed with this recipe when made as stated. It seemed mushy/gritty because of the cream cheese. I also tried reducing the amount and/or making it with the cream cheese spread on the toast before cutting and had the same results, and also tried reducing the # of eggs to 6. It tasted better cold than warm, as well. If I were to make it yet another time, I would for sure eliminate the cream cheese to see if it helped the strange texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I made this as a Mother's Day brunch, and it turned out fantastic! I didn't have cinnamon raisin bread on hand, so I just used white sandwhich bread. Like other reviewers mentioned, I spread the bread with the cream cheese (which I had mixed with a tsp of vanilla, some cinnamon and allspice) and laid the slices in the casserole dish instead of cubing the bread and sprinkling it with the cream cheese. I also doubled the amount of apples, and coated them with a little cinnamon and sugar before adding them. I followed the rest of the recipe to the "T," and we all loved it! My mom said it was the best part of her Mother's Day...definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bacisgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I was not as impressed with this recipe as I thought I would be. I'm not sure why, but I was expecting something a little more spectacular. I will probably make it again, but in the future I think I'll try cutting off the crusts of the bread before cubing it to keep the consistency a little more "constant" throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alannakaye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States