Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was "ok" nothing great, I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lionqueenmelissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
So yummy! I used cinnamon bread (not a huge fan of raisins) and also mixed cream cheese with brown sugar and cinnamon before dolloping on 1st layer of bread. My kids and hubby loved this even more the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was a hit with everyone Christmas morning. It needed a lot longer to cook and I ended up increasing the oven temperature and just blasting it with heat. I think baking for an hour to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this for a holiday brunch and it was a big hit. If I make it again, I will follow the suggestion of whipping the cream cheese, as I found the chunks of it a little unappealing. I also would add additional raisins and dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
very good. Cooked much longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Petzold

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
No one in my family could eat this Better luck next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I made this for Christmas brunch and it turned out great. I used Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Swirl bread. I mixed fat-free cream cheese with a tsp each of cinnamon and vanilla and spread the mixture on the bread before cubing it. I used 2 large rome apples and a generous sprinkle of raisins. I cut the butter to 4 Tbsp. and added 1 tsp each of cinnamon and vanilla and fat-free half and half to the egg mixture. I soaked the strata overnight the refrigerator and weighed it down with bags of beans as suggested. It was neither too soggy nor dry I forgot to add the syrup to the eggs so I poured 1/3 cup over the top before baking and that was fine. I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is a tradition in our home for close to ten years. I make this every Christmas Eve, so that when we wake up Christmas morning, I pop this in the oven, and by the time the presents are done, breakfast is ready (or close enough!). The only changes I have made over the years is that, it's Christmas, I use heavy cream!! We skip all raisins, (DH, not a super fan) and we ADD cooked, crumbled, maple sausage. SO YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Quite a hit with guests! It took some time, but I spread each slice of bread with cream cheese then broke it up. Seriously delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I over cooked a apple cake that came out dry, I did not want to waste it as the flavor was real good. I made this strada with the cake instead of bread and since it was already frosted with cream cheese frosting I did not have to add that either. Came out AWESOME..... Mix it up with what you have on hand. Leftover banana bread would be good, going to try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States