Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This was so good and so easy to make! After reading other reviews, I added a little cinnamon vanilla to the egg mixture. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This was easy to make & tasty! Not to sweet. I used granny smith apples. I plan to try it with various apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coaco1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Was kind of bland. Did not go over with my family & guest. To much cream cheese. I will make again, but, will cut the cream cheese in half & will add cinnamin, nutmeg & sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Very bland. Made it for Easter breakfast and no one really liked it. It lacked flavor. Perhaps more cinnamon or some vanilla or soemthing would have helped, but had alot left over because no one really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this for our church's Easter breakfast. It looked so yummy and had such good reviews that I didn't try it out first. It was a HUGE hit and I enjoyed making something new. We didn't get to eat it for about an hour after I took it out of the oven (it hung out in my Pyrex carrier), and I did not take extra maple syrup. It did not need it (probably because of the pie filling sweetening it up) but when I make it at home I will drizzle on more because you really can't have too much real maple syrup! Based on other reviews (and my being too tired to face peeling and dicing apples) I did substitute the can of apple pie filling for the diced apples. I also added a couple of handfuls of Craisins. I also heeded the advice to up the temp to 350 and baked for 50 minutes. I also used a few bags of beans to weigh it down as it soaked overnight. The strata puffs up A LOT, so be sure to use a large enough baking dish - not all 9x13 baking dishes are created equal. It will settle back down as it sits - after 5 minutes I was able to put the lid of my carrier on it with no problem. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Cut the entire recipe by 75% and made it in a 7 x 11 dish. Used Cinnamon Swirl w/out raisins, honey instead of maple syrup. Refrigerated for about 12 hours. Everyone loved it, second helpings all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The recipe was a hit with Easter brunch at my home. The changes I made were; doubling the recipe (used 11x15x3 glass dish), on one loaf I spread cream cheese on the slices of Pepperidge Farm Cinn Raisin bread, the other loaf I did not, the 2nd pkg of cream cheese was chunked and put on top of the apple layer, I added 1Tbsp of vanilla to the liquids, I used 2 ups of 1% milk (rather than 1/2 and 1/2) and 2 cans of apple pie filling carefully layered (rather than the work of peeling and coring fresh apples). It was covered with saran wrap and soaked overnight (didn't need to weigh it down). baked at 350 for 1 hr then kept in warming oven til serving. Next time I will spread the cream cheese on all of the bread...chunks were not the favorite. One 4x4 slice was enough for each person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Smelled great and looks beautiful. However, I followed the recipe to a "T" except that I baked it, uncovered, for over an hour at 350 degrees to try to and dry it out a bit. Consistency was mushy/slimy, flavor was very bland. Hard to believe that something that smelled this good was so devoid of flavor. I would not make again -- would need too many alterations to rescue this recipe. Something this unhealthy (fat, carbs, cholesterol, calories) should be far more delicious to be worth the nutritional sacrifice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
It was a hit at the office! It takes a while to cube the bread, so I left the slices whole on the bottom to save some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I've made this twice and it's pretty good, but probably won't make it again. Tasted better after it cooled longer (30-45 minutes). I drizzled about 1/2 c. real maple syrup over top of strata & that improved the flavor also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States