Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I fixed this for Easter brunch, and it was delicious! My wife said it was like bread pudding, which is her favorite dessert. Like most others, I made some changes which worked well for me. I spread the cream cheese on each slice of bread before cubing and extra cinnamon as well as some freshly ground nutmeg. I also used only two cups of Half-and-half and 6 eggs which was enough for the 11" X 14" pan I used.When I make it next time, I'll toast the bread lightly to make spreading the cream cheese and cubing easier and will double the diced apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
It was yummy. Next time I'll add more apples and raisins, and do a finer chop on the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this dish today for Easter brunch. It was tasty; however, it was very rich. Next time, I would cut back on the creamed cheese and maybe use half milk and half "Half and Half. I think I would also add some chopped ham to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Yummy! I made 1/2 the recipe in a 8x8 pan. I put 4 whole slices of bread on the bottom, covered it with apples and raisins, put 4 more slices on top. Poured the wet ingredients on top and let it soak in for 1 hour (that's all the time I had). Before baking I added sugar and cinnamon and then baked it. Thanks to all the readers suggestions, this came out perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
We liked this but thought the cream cheese gave it an odd, not-quite-baked-through texture. Next I make it, instead of baking the cream cheese into the strata, I will make a glaze or icing out of it to use as a topping after it comes out of the oven. With this change, I think it could be a 5-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This is delicious!! I added 5 eggs. Added cinnamon, cloves & ginger. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
The recipe is a little bland as written, but it's pretty easy to spruce it up. I added 1 teaspoon each of vanilla and cinnamon, 3/4 teaspoon of nutmeg and 1/4 teaspoon of cloves to the egg/cream mixture. I also used sugar-free syrup, half a package of neufchatel in place of a full package of cream cheese, and reduced the eggs from eight to six. I've had it with and without apples, and it's good both ways. Definitely bake a little longer/hotter than listed, or it may be pretty mushy in the middle. An hour at 350 was perfect for me. It's also *much* tastier the day *after* baking. It takes on a moister consistency, which some people might not like, but it gives the post-baking flavors a chance to meld together nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Fabulous recipe, though a bit basic and after reading through previous users' reviews I made some tweaks per their suggestions as follows: Cream Cheese - I spread on bread prior to cubing. Time consuming to cut up bread with cream cheese but worth it as I don't like chunks of cream cheese as was suggested by the original recipe. Eggs - I used 8. Will use 6 next time. Spices - I added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp nutmeg, and .25 tsp cloves. I sprinkled a bit of brown sugar over the apples as well since some users suggested it wasn't sweet enough. Apples - I opted for 1 large can of apple pie filling but felt I could have used 2 cans, though next time I will use 1 can apple pie filling and maybe 2 medium fresh apples for a bit of "crunch". Baking temp/time - Per users' reviews, I baked uncovered at 350 degrees for 60 minutes. Perfect! Not soggy in the least. Refrigerates well, and tastes even better the next morning in my husband's opinion ;-) I think that if you are a real cook you will love it. For those who said it was bland or soggy, my thoughts are that they are beginner or amatuer cooks bc this was my first time making it and I am by no means a professional chef and it was super easy to prep Christmas Eve, and even easier to pop in the oven the next morning for Christmas breakfast. Perfect timing - pop in before presents and voila! Complete breakfast is ready by the time the gifts are unwrapped and GREAT when you are feeding a large crowd! Happy cooking my friend ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Florida, USA
Living In: Carson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Excellent! Made for Christmas morning 2012, everyone ate it right up! Making it for me own birthday breakfast this week! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arm5510

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States