Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I took this to a brunch this morning and everyone raved about it. I used Aunt Hattie's raisin bread, added more raisins,the cinnamon and vanilla suggested by other reviewers. What a great breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Boy, did I score the attaboys on this one. What I did different: Used lots more apples -- about 2.5 cups total. Added 1/2 cup golden raisins, and together with the increased apples, the amount of fruit seemed just right. There's just something about butter, warm fruit and maple syrup...Used a 1 lb loaf of "Cinnabon" brand bread. If you make this, you will forever be regarded as the world's best cook... And it is so EZ!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Delicious. Since I only have a 5/13 inch baking dish and I used the quantities given, I made two and only had enough apple for one of them. I wonder had I made just one dish, would the apple be enough? I melted the cream cheese and mixed it up with the other ingredients, instead of putting it in in dollops. I also increased the cooking time as per a reviewer's advice, but it came out a bit overcooked, so the 45 min in the oven should be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Made this as a brunch gift and received rave reviews. Following other's suggestions, I: used Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Raisin bread,spread the cream cheese before cubing, used whipping cream instead of half and half, added additional raisins, used only 6 eggs, added to the egg mixture-1/2 tsp. vanilla, 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. Also used Granny Smith apples. Wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I made this for an office brunch: not a scrap left, and four people asked for the recipe. The only full-calorie ingredient I used was the butter (used fat-free half & half, neufchatel cheese, and Better 'n' Eggs egg substitute), and this came out great. I only soaked it for an hour and forty minutes, as that was all the time I had. I did weight the casserole with a bag of water, as someone suggested in an earlier review. I set the oven to 375 degrees, then set it back to 350 when I put the casserole in the oven. I plan to make another this weekend for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Was good, but a bit bland. Will try it again with cinnamon swirl bread and fewer raisins but add pecans on top. Might try adding a splash of rum and serve it for dessert. Great potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this for dinner along with a savory strata. I used cinnamon bread & added some raisins as suggested... excellent! I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Can I give this 10 stars?? AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Ok so i didn't have any cinnamon raisin bread so i used some of my wheat bread that was a few days old. It wasn't as sweet as if I would have used the suggested bread so I know if i did it would be fantastic. I added some dried orange cranberries in place of the raisins. I sprinkled some powdered sugar over the top to up the sweetness to what it would be if I used the cinnamon bread. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
We did not like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States