Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Wow! Made this for brunch on Sunday. Followed the recipe exactly. Everyone loved it. Kind of a cross between strata & bread pudding. Served it with maple syrup & sausage links. Might try crumbling the sausage after browning & adding to the strata next time. Thanks for a great recipe. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Everyone loved this so much, we are having Sunday for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Made this recipe for a sunday brunch with friends and everyone enjoyed it. I didn't have the right size pan, so I had to improvise and I misread the recipe and put in twice the amount of butter the recipe asked for, but it was still delicious. I also added vanilla and cinnamon even though the recipe didn't include that. I loved that you can make the recipe the day before and then pop it in the oven the morning you need it. In the future I might use less cream cheese and more apples. I would also suggest using really good bread. definitely would recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is soooo wonderful...but I have a question - Does anyone out there in allrecipes land know if this could be frozen before baking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I changed a few things to make it more like baked stuffed french toast. I layered the bread slices across the bottom and then spread the cream cheese (creamed together with a little vanilla,cinnamon, and sugar)then a layer of sliced apples and finally another layer of bread slices. Pour the egg mixture over the top and sprinkle with more cinnamon/sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
My family and I enjoyed the original recipe, but I like to add the extra raisins as well as a sprinkling of nutmeg, allspice, ground cloves, and extra cinnamon, and I am generous with the apple. I think it works best with a good quality bread that isn't too sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I made this for a family reunion and used cinnamon bread (my sister hates raisins:)). I added 2 eggs to the recipe and it set very well. Texture was great and the kids loved it - as did the adults - it is rich so if i make it again i will cut down on the cream cheeses. I used fat free half and half which worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
An interesting cross between french toast and bread pudding- not sure if i will make this again, however
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Great dish! I took this to a "Dining Divas" brunch (a picky bunch) and everyone asked for the recipe. I may omit the cream cheese the next time. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States