Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I'm not sure how to rate this recipe. I followed all directions exactly... except I put the oven at 350. Even at 350 I baked this for 1 hour 20 minutes and it still was not done. Everyone had a piece (just my husband, 3 kids, and me) and all said it was good. The second half of it is now back in the oven to see if it will firm up a bit. So..... flavor is good, cook time is inaccurate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by murelzgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metropolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I wasn't that impressed with this. It was good, but just not very flavorful. I cut the recipe in half and then still only used 3 eggs. It wasn't soggy or dry - just perfect there. But it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Good but very wet. My son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I made this for our Christmas breakfast & everyone loved it! I did only use 6 eggs as suggested by others, but everything else I kept the same. In the future I may add a bit more apples. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This is a very good recipe. I made a few changes the second time I made it for my personal taste. I used a less cream cheese and a little more syrup. My family found it absolutely agreeable for a cold night supper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My family loved this. I followed other people's advice and used only 6 eggs and added cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla, only I added mine to the egg mixture instead of the cream cheese. When I make this again, I will not dice the bread; I'll arrange whole pieces so that it's more like french toast. I'll also spread the cream cheese on the bread like others have suggested because cream cheese doesn't really dice and trying to get it in small dollops was a pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Mixed reviews at our house. I really liked it, tho it needed to cook longer than the recipe says (more like an hour.) My husband and daughter thought it was too goopy in the middle and didn't like the cream cheese in it. I may try to make it again without the cream cheese and cooked much longer to dry out the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Had this for Christmas. Thanks Terrie! My family really enjoyed the fact that it wasn't too sweet. Those of us with a sweet tooth could add syrup if we wanted. Like others, I also spread the cream cheese on the bottom layer of bread. I also used two apples. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
My daughter said "muy bien"! Used Pepp. Farm whole wheat raisin bread and threw in a handful of extra raisins, and a few more apples (the one apple I used was HUGE). Only used six eggs and think I would go with the full amt next time...did not get done in time allotted even at 350. Also, I only used 1/2 pkg. cream chesse which was plenty. Would probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This strata was soooo delicious!! I modified the recipe according to some of the other members: I added cinnamon and sugar to the cream chesse then spead it on each slice of Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon and Raisin bread before cubing; added additional raisins; and increased the temperature to 350 degrees for 1 hour, the first half-hour covering with foil. It turned out absolutely perfect. It was not too sweet and the addition of maple syrup on the finished product was even more scrumptious! A real winner at our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States