Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Next time cook 15 min longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was demolished! I do have a hint for those who thought parts of it stayed too dry. Instead of layering the bread in the pan then pouring the custard over it, mix up the custard in a very large bowl, then pour your cubed bread into that and mix well. THEN, put a layer in the pan, put on your fruits and then add the rest of the bread and pour over any leftover custard. If you let it soak for a minute in the custard and stir it up well, it makes it nice and evenly moist. I also used fat free half and half and added about an extra teaspoon of cinnamon and half a teaspoon of nutmeg since along with about a teaspoon of vanilla extract since I use that on my french toast normally. 1 granny smith apple and an extra large handful of golden raisins make it perfect. Cube your very cold cream cheese into tiny bits so every bite has a little but doesn't overtake the bite. Good stuff! I think this will go into our weekend guest rotation since it's so easy to put together the night before. Next time, I think I will use egg beaters and light cream cheese to reduce the calorie count but not the flavor. Use real maple syrup and you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twila Davis Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I can't believe how soggy it was! I wish people would just print out the recipe after all of the adjustments are made. Very costly to make and then for it not to turn out is very upsetting. And to top it off this one was in the magazine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita
Home Town: Fairport Harbor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yéléna
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The recipe turned out really good! My mother-in-law and I made it for Christmas morning. It tasted fantastic! I feel that replacing the apples with another fruit would go really well too, like for example: blueberries, strawberries, pears even? Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yéléna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island City, New York, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I had not made this in a very long time and want to kick myself for not making it more often. I thought there would be lots leftover as there weren't too many of us at today's gathering, but every last piece was gone. The chunks of cream cheese is what makes it so good, don't reduce, don't melt or spread it. I did reduce the eggs to 6 and will add another 1/2 cup of apples next time. So easy and so yummy. Thank you, Terrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Served with apple cider syrup from this site and it was wonderful! Used a local cinnamon raisin bread and had them slice it thick which makes all the difference. Added vanilla to the cream cheese mixture and then spread it onto the bread slices as another reviewer suggested. Added a 1/4 cup more of raisins and apples for extra goodness! Oh my, this was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Did some tweaking after reading several reviews and it was a big hit at my women's group. First of all, I just laid the slices in the pan. I reduced the half-and-half to 2 cups and left rest of egg mixture the same. I poured half of this egg mixture over the bottom layer of bread. I used 8 oz of whipped cream cheese mixed with 1 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 c sugar. I spread this evenly over the bread. I then added the apple layer (I used pie filling). I added another layer of bread and poured the remaing egg mixture over it. I let it sit overnight in fridge and then baked it in the morning @ 350 for 55-60 min. The bread turned out the perfect texture of french toast with a creamy center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I used french bread (and a couple of sprouted wheat hot dog buns!) torn into small pieces and stirred with a softened cream cheese/brown sugar/cinnamon mixture. Added that to the pan and topped with 3 med. apples, also mixed with a little brown sugar and cinnamon, and chopped very fine. I didn't bother to peel the apples, and I didn't add any raisins. Added the other 1/2 of bread on top and poured the egg/milk combo over. I used 6 eggs and 1 1/4c heavy whipping cream and 1 1/4c. whole milk and 2TBS of the maple syrup. Baked @ 350 for 45 min, with foil on the first 15 min. We drizzled with a little more maple syrup before eating. The closer it is to room temperature the more delicious it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I followed the directions, it was tasty, but I was not pleased with the texture or the appearance. I would not serve this to guests. I did spread each slice of bread with the cream cheese, but it showed up on the plate as small curdled looking lumps. It has a custard texture, which is fine if that's what your wanting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
My family loved this recipe. I had made it a few times already. I made it this way and I also changed up the fruits using strawberries and then cherries. Each time it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 326) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States