Apple Raisin French Toast Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made this last year as per the recipe. It was delicious except I didn't care for the globs of cream cheese. I am making it this year without the cream cheese. Will let you know how it came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
DELICIOUS. Used about half the cream cheese and spread it on each slice as other did. Used sunmaid raisin bread and two less eggs and fat free half and half which as someone else said went undetected.I think this could easily use half the account of butter. Might also try this without cream cheese someday... Not sure it adds anything. Two Honeycrisp apples worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I didn't have raisin bread so I used 12 slices of white bread and sprinkled cinnamon sugar on it. I also didn't have raisins on hand so I added half a cup of dried cranberries. Layered the cream cheese, mine had been frozen so it was kind of just crumbly. Added three apples chopped and another hand full of cranberries on top. Then the rest of the bread and another sprinkle of cinnamon sugar mixture. To the egg mixture I used whole milk as that is what I had on hand, real maple syrup and I added a drop of butter flavoring and a drop of vanilla and another couple table spoons of the cinnamon sugar mixture. My guys told me that it won't keep so they are having thirds. I think will keep fine but they really like it! The tart of the cranberries and apples goes great with the sweetness of this dish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I used 6 eggs instead of 8 and baked it for an hour. I added a lot of cinnamon, freshly grated nutmeg and cloves and it still was pretty bland.Didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Next time cook 15 min longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was demolished! I do have a hint for those who thought parts of it stayed too dry. Instead of layering the bread in the pan then pouring the custard over it, mix up the custard in a very large bowl, then pour your cubed bread into that and mix well. THEN, put a layer in the pan, put on your fruits and then add the rest of the bread and pour over any leftover custard. If you let it soak for a minute in the custard and stir it up well, it makes it nice and evenly moist. I also used fat free half and half and added about an extra teaspoon of cinnamon and half a teaspoon of nutmeg since along with about a teaspoon of vanilla extract since I use that on my french toast normally. 1 granny smith apple and an extra large handful of golden raisins make it perfect. Cube your very cold cream cheese into tiny bits so every bite has a little but doesn't overtake the bite. Good stuff! I think this will go into our weekend guest rotation since it's so easy to put together the night before. Next time, I think I will use egg beaters and light cream cheese to reduce the calorie count but not the flavor. Use real maple syrup and you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twila Davis Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Triangle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I can't believe how soggy it was! I wish people would just print out the recipe after all of the adjustments are made. Very costly to make and then for it not to turn out is very upsetting. And to top it off this one was in the magazine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita
Home Town: Fairport Harbor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yéléna
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The recipe turned out really good! My mother-in-law and I made it for Christmas morning. It tasted fantastic! I feel that replacing the apples with another fruit would go really well too, like for example: blueberries, strawberries, pears even? Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yéléna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island City, New York, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I had not made this in a very long time and want to kick myself for not making it more often. I thought there would be lots leftover as there weren't too many of us at today's gathering, but every last piece was gone. The chunks of cream cheese is what makes it so good, don't reduce, don't melt or spread it. I did reduce the eggs to 6 and will add another 1/2 cup of apples next time. So easy and so yummy. Thank you, Terrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Served with apple cider syrup from this site and it was wonderful! Used a local cinnamon raisin bread and had them slice it thick which makes all the difference. Added vanilla to the cream cheese mixture and then spread it onto the bread slices as another reviewer suggested. Added a 1/4 cup more of raisins and apples for extra goodness! Oh my, this was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States