Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Just leave out the raisins or exchange for dried apricot or craisins. Also make a topping sauce of squirtable cream cheese and brown sugar to decorate the top. Fed 300 ladies at the Circus Breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
this was delicious. used about a half a loaf of bread. i sliced it into 1 in stips instead of whole slices 1 in thick. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I have made this the past few years for Thanksgiving brunch for my family and they LOVE it! It is a real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Fantastic flavor. Might make a few tweaks next time though, since the apples were still kind of crisp and there was some extra liquid from the apples in the bottom of the pan. We had a similar recipe at a Bread & Breakfast in Wisconsin, and they cooked the apples in brown sugar on the stove top prior to baking. I would do that plus add a little dry tapicoa to the apples to absorb any excess liquid from the apples. Used Honey Crisp and Liberty apples (sweet and tart) from our recent trip to Wisconsin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Yummo!!! I'm not sure about some of the other reviews but I had no problems with this recipe. I tried it exactly the way it was written to *see* for myself how it turned out. The only thing I omitted was vanilla because I had none and I added a bit of nutmeg and probably more cinnamon then it call for lol. Other than that, that was it! It was sooooooooooo yummy!!!! OMG, I couldn't get over the taste! Totally not too sweet which I kinda worried about with the brown sugar and apples. I even splashed it with maple syrup afterwards but didn't need it. I did cook this at 200C for 40 minutes uncovered. I don't like my French Toast dried out, not how it should be, so it was perfect; moist and spongy ;) I also let it stand the extra 5 minutes, could have stood longer only cause it holds the heat. The other thing is FYI NZers: I only used 24 slices of French bread cut between 1-1.25 inches in thickness. I think our French sticks must be denser cause I weighed out a pound but was too much. Totally recommend giving this one a go ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANLAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
OMG, this is WONDERFUL! Sooo easy to make. I used 3 Granny Smith apples and the regular amount of butter. The only thing I did a little differently, was melt the butter, brown sugar and cinnamon together into a glaze, so that it would be easier to mix onto the apple slices & raisins. I also followed some of the other reviewers' advice and soaked the bread cubes (I just used regular French loaf bread) in the egg mixture overnight, separate from the apple/raisin mix in the baking pan. Cooked it for about 40 minutes and 10-12 minutes uncovered. I took this to a work function for Boss's Day, it was GONE in no time! Everyone was asking me for the recipe and it got rave reviews. Great recipe, I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Very good and pretty easy and quick. I used french toast bread, but really any plain or sweet bread would work. I also added fresh ground nutmeg and vanilla bean. LOVE that you can prepare the night before, and I actually think that is the key to this dish- It gives the bread time to soak everything up and I think resulted in a much more even texture than if you baked it right away. I was concerned it was going to be soggy, so I may have baked it a few extra minutes because of that and it was PERFECT. Could easily be scaled down and made in a loaf pan. Great way to feed a lot of people and re-heats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was better in theory than in practice. I don't know why we didn't just love it. Don't get me wrong - it wasn't bad, per se. We like all the various ingredients. I used a hearty home made bread, the Amish White Bread on this website. The casserole tasted OK, but just didn't ring our bells. My daughter said she'd rather have just plain French toast with syrup than this, and I realized reluctantly that she was right. I'm sure it's a time saver when serving breakfast to a crowd, but as my family is small, I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I cut the recipe to 4 servings and used one small apple and one small pear in addition to the raisins; I also cut the sugar by a bit. I did need to bake the casserole for about 20 minutes longer than stated, but I like my French toast very firm. I also didn't make this the night before, but threw it together the morning of. Both DH and I were impressed with the flavors (though I think I put in cloves in place of cinnamon; it was VERY early and the bottles all look alike...) and the texture. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Good but not fantastic. May or may not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake

Displaying results 81-90 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States