Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I've been making this for 6 years now at camp and it is always a big hit! The kids prefer that I leave out the raisins, they are not used to eating raisins in Europe! Go figure! With or without the raisins this is a GREAT recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANEYLORENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Good. Very easy to put together. I used SunMaid Cinnamon Raison bread and put it at the bottom with the apple mixture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flamborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I made this for my breakfast day at work and it was a huge hit! I tweaked it a bit to make it healthier and it still came out fantastic! Here are my changes: 1) used one loaf whole wheat cinnamon raisin bread, cubed and toasted at 450 for 10 minutes (stirred bread cubes halfway through toasting); 2) used 1 cup egg beaters and 2 eggs (didn't have enough egg beaters to fully substitute, but will probably use all egg beaters next time); 3) mixed bread with egg mixture in bowl and then poured into bottom of casserole dish. 4) Spread apple/raisin mixture and syrup on top of bread (the apples tasted like baked cinnamon apples & were amazing!); 5) Baked covered for 30 minutes...had to bake almost 45 minutes uncovered to get to the right texture; 6) Dusted with powdered sugar just before serving. Next time I'll definitely cut back the butter to 1/4 cup--the top looked like it was swimming in butter at first and I had to drain it and blot with paper towels. I think my cooking time will be greatly reduced with less butter too--I was trying to get it to dry out after blotting the extra off! All in all, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Definitely a keeper! I served this for dinner on a night when my husband was managing the kids for dinner. I used apples, cranberries, fresh pineapple I had leftover and some chopped candied pecans (what the heck!). My oldest son said it was 'generally awesome' and my husband said he had to fight the kids to save some for me to eat when I got home. Love that you can prepare it ahead -- I let it soak for a couple of hours. I followed other reviewers advice and cut down to 2/3 stick of butter. Next time I'll try 1/2 stick of butter (1/4 cup), 2/3 cup brown sugar and whole wheat french bread to cut down on the sweetness a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I used the cinnamon raisin bread it turned out great, I also don't marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I made this at work for family and staff, they absolutely loved this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recreation

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Although this was very good, the caramel sauce on the bottom was to saucy. It would have been five stars if that sauce was just a little thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smidgette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I used a loaf of cinnamon raison bread instead of french bread and threw in some chopped pecans. Otherwise I followed the recipe. I made it Christmas morning and was so yummy. I did a lot of cooking this Christmas and this is the best site for recipes. I didn't make this the night before, totally forgot, but it came out great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I love this recipe! The only thing I changed was cutting the bread into half-inch slices instead of 1 inch. This helped the bread become completely wet when I poured on the egg mixture. Next time I will use about 1/2 to 2/3 less butter; there was too much at the bottom of the pan for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Fantastic! I used only 2 apples and cut down on the raisins and still great. Very easy and a huge hit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States