Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I used a loaf of cinnamon raison bread instead of french bread and threw in some chopped pecans. Otherwise I followed the recipe. I made it Christmas morning and was so yummy. I did a lot of cooking this Christmas and this is the best site for recipes. I didn't make this the night before, totally forgot, but it came out great anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I love this recipe! The only thing I changed was cutting the bread into half-inch slices instead of 1 inch. This helped the bread become completely wet when I poured on the egg mixture. Next time I will use about 1/2 to 2/3 less butter; there was too much at the bottom of the pan for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Fantastic! I used only 2 apples and cut down on the raisins and still great. Very easy and a huge hit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I made this last year for Christmas and it was a HUGE hit! It was great to be able to prepare it the night before & just pop it in the oven in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This was excellent. I made it Christmas eve night to bake for Christmas morning. It was an easy breakfast and I substituted dried cranberries for raisins to make it more seasonal. It tastes much like bread pudding and does not need any added syrup. When I served it, I spooned servings so that the apples and cranberries topped the "toast" layer. It looked lovely on the plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made this for my dads birthday. I made it with splenda brown sugar. It worked out great, everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strayredbolt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
one word - awesome! I used homemade cinnamon/honey bread instead of a baguette. Will definitely make again. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made this for a family breakfast and got comments such as "This is the best baked french toast I've ever had!" So, I consider it a keeper. The main difference that I made was I made my own cinnamon raisin bread in the breadmachine - very easy and about 1 1/2 loaves from the recipe I used yielded the perfect amount. In case anyone is interested - here's the bread recipe with some changes from the recipezaar: 1 cup water 2 T butter/marg 2 cups all purpose flour 1 cup whole wheat flour 3 T white sugar 1 T brown sugar 1 1/2 t salt 2-3 t cinnamon (depending on preference) 2 1/2 t yeast 1 1/2 cups raisins (soaked in hot water before hand and added at the "add in" beep from the machine) Put the bread on the sweet bread setting with light crust. I made the bread and cubed it, then soaked it in the egg mixture I made without the cinnamon because the cinnamon was in the bread and I added a lot. I also did not add the raisins with the apples because the raisins were already in the bread. But I did include the cinnamon with the apples and brown sugar mixture. Some reviews give you different options, but I followed the recipe and put the apples on the bottom of the pan and then the bread on top. The apples kinda carmelized down there and made a wonderful syrupy part of the dish to spoon on top of the moist bread. I followed the refrigerating and baking instructions of the recipe and it turned out, like I said, fabulous. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Okay folks - have made this twice, 1st time as the original recipe called for and the 2nd time, took into account all the reviews.... Used 1/2 cinnamon raisin bread and half french bread, added nutmeg, increased the eggs to 8 and the cooking time to 1 hour with the last 25 minutes uncovered! Same amount of cinnamon... Fed eight hungry BIG men who sang my praises. This is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I made this dish for an early morning meeting and it turned out great. I used cream instead of milk, and I omitted the raisins and used half the cinnamon because I used the cinnamon raisin bread. I also soaked the bread in the egg mixture before placing it over the apples. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Artesia, New Mexico, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States