Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Pretty good recipe. I thought it would of been a bigger hit with my children. Definately good for Christmas morning, easy to prepare the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Valley Cottage, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
3 simple changes. replaced 1 c of milk with half and half,used pepperidge farms cinnamon raisin bread cut into quarters and added a tsp of nutmeg. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was delicious. It took a bit longer than expected to cook and still was a little soggy but very tasty. Surprisingly saucy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
loved this!..took a loaf of cinnamon raisin and cut slices in half along with maybe 6 slices of a plain french loaf since so many people said their center was soggy...i cut the milk amount to 1 cup and also melted the butter in a sauce pan and added the apples til they softened this made the mixture kinda watery but i think by doing this and cutting down the milk amount the bread was able to really absorb the egg and apple juices over night so that i had no problem with a soggy center
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this for company this weekend. I decided to make 1.5 times the recipe to ensure I had enough. I made one batch in a 9x13 pan and another in an 8x8 pan. I did everything as directed (serves 18 instead of 12) except I used 4 apples and only one stick of butter. I also used 1-1/2 loaves of raisin cinnamon bread. I put this together around 9 pm and popped it in the oven the next morning at 8 for 45 minutes covered. I uncovered the pans and baked for 15 minutes and ended up raising the temperature to 400 degrees for another 10 minutes to get a nice crispiness to the top. I thought it was sweet, but several of my guests had seconds and everyone talked about how great this tasted. The larger pan was the soggier of the two. I tasted from both pans and found I preferred the casserole from the 8x8, which was less soggy. Served this with sausage links, orange juice and coffee. I'll definitely have this again next time we have company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUSHPUPPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Awesome! My kids loved it. It was like french toast over hot apple pie. Placing the bread over the apples keeps them from getting soggy overnight too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was pretty good. It had a strange texture, to me. But other than that, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girl's best friend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I put the toasted cinnamon bread soaked in egg/milk mixture on the bottom and spread the apple/butter/brown sugar mixture on top. Left out the raisins. Baked it for 40 minutes covered and 10 minutes uncovered. Sprinkled with powdered sugar to finish...perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Odessa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I made three of these this morning for my office of 30 people. I made 2 using the cinnamon-raisin swirl bread and 1 using the cinnamon swirl bread. This recipe is so easy to make and then I just woke up this morning, pulled the prepped casseroles out of the fridge and popped them in the oven. I cooked all 3 in the oven at the same time on 375 for 45 min. I took another's advice and uncovered them for the remaining 25 min. PERFECT! I have gotten so many "This is Awesome" and "This is delish!" from my co-workers this morning. This recipe is definitely a keeper! I'm going to make this again and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniferijulia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe and so easy. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rytyjo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States