Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
It has good flavors, but not exceptional. If you are feeding a hungry group, count on it serving 7 - 8, not the 12 it states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe called for and it was delicious! Very easy to put together and the leftovers were just as good the next day. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was wonderful! Made it for Christmas breakfast and the convenience of preparing it the night before was great...just popped it in the oven first thing in the morning. It was delicious and I didn't use syrup on mine. The only mistake I made was buying apples that were on sale instead of the Grannys...and I know better than that. Will definitely use Grannys next time. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I will make this again and again. It was easy and quick to prepare and super delicious. I've made a plain French toast casserole before which was yummy, but we really loved the addition of the granny smith apples. The store was out of French baguettes (it was christmas eve) so I used a Vienna loaf. I was out of vanilla and still It turned out perfect. I'm not sure why a 1/2 cup butter was needed. I'd use less next time just to keep the calories down (right).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was the first time I've made this recipe. We were having friends over for a brunch. I made the original recipe and didn't change a thing. Everyone LOVED it. I found it so sweet with just the apples and raisins that I didn't want to ruin it by putting syrup on it. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I tried this after reading all the reviews but was still not happy enough to use it again. The bread was way too mushy & it didn't have enough egg for our liking. The flavors were there but I don't have time to keep adjusting things to get it the way we would like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I made half the recipe using two medium size apples and left-over butternut squash bread I had made. I’m not too crazy about the raisins, so I put in less than requested. If your bread is fresh, dry it out in the oven so it will absorb the egg mixture or your dish will be too wet. Also, I cut the bread into cubes for easier serving and then added them to the egg mixture to make sure they absorb the egg mixture. It smells wonderful and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I never write reviews; compelled after that amazing meal. Read other reviews before making and noticed suggestion to put apples on top instead. That's what we did and it was absolutely awesome. Next time will try 1/2 apples on bottom, then bread/egg, then rest of apples on top. Maybe add an extra egg if it's not covering enough of apples to soak before baking. We added top with 1/2 & 1/2 to help soak apples a bit more before baking. Served with side of bacon (and beer...) and it was a perfect finish to a long day. Breakfast for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Made this recipe on Christmas morning last year and it was a hit!! Glad I found it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I do enjoy this recipe. I make is for breakfast, potlucks at work, and for family. I don't normally put in raisins though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States