Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
pretty good. i used dried cranberries instead of raisins, which helped add more flavor. would be good dusted with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Wilkinson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This turned out beautifully... and I didn't prepare it the night before. I followed the advice of a couple other reviewers, having cut the apples (Granny Smith) into smaller chunks and mixing the melted butter with the apples before adding the brown sugar/cinnamon mixture. I also subbed walnuts for raisins and added nutmeg. I mixed the eggs, milk, and cinnamon in the same bowl as the brown sugar mixture, so what was left of that blended nicely, adding flavor to the egg wash and, thus, the french bread. Since I prepared it in the morning, I soaked the bread before arranging it in the pan, then poured the rest of the mixture over the bread. Finally, I baked it covered for 30 minutes and uncovered for 15. It was absolutely delicious with a very light drizzle of real maple syrup. OMG YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was pretty bland and the kids had to add syrup to even touch it. I do not think I will make it again. It did not make a whole lot of servings and I used more eggs and time than if I had just made the french toast traditionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I made this dish for the gang at work, and they loved it. It was very easy. I used 4 apples instead of three (Gala) because they were small. It worked out just fine. I think this would be really good with pecans mixed in, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I made this for my husband's birthday brunch and everyone loved it. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
French toast the way it was meant to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bohemia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Ok, this is very tasty, especially the apples on the bottom. I cubed raisin bread and mixed it into egg mixture. I also used only 5 eggs because I didn't want it too eggy or runny. I also used pecans mixed in with the apples and then sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Our family loves this recipe! For the most part I make the recipe as is except that I usually just use stale bread that I have in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Came out pretty good. Didn't go over as well with my daycare kids as I had hoped but all in all a pretty good recipe. I would add more sugar and about 1/4 more liquid mixture as I had a hard time getting everything covered and soaked. Also, wouldmake apples little chunks next time too. great starter though! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIALSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Lomita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
I made this using cinna-raisin bread, which was soaked in egg mixture before layering on top of the apples, per other reviewers' suggestions... I had to bake the casserole for about 75 minutes for it to properly puff up and brown (but I think that's due to my ancient, tiny electric oven), and the french toast part came out great. The only drawback was a lot of liquid cooked out of the apples, which didn't affect the taste at all, but it didn't look very appetizing as I made this for a potluck so the baking dish was also the serving dish (clearish liquid could be seen pooling around the edges of the pan). If I had been able to immediately cut and serve this on another dish, it wouldn't have been an issue, so for the next potluck I'll just cook the apple filling first before assembling the casserole. I only used 2 tsp vanilla and probably 3x as much cinnamon as the recipe called for, just per my own taste, and it was very tasty-- I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States