Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
WAYYYYY too sweet. I made it according to the directions- except for that I soaked my french loaf slices in the egg mixture (as recommended by other reviews). This is more like a too sweet dessert. I made it for brunch and it was left un-eaten on plates. Nobody commented on it. It tastes like apple pie filling with double the sugar with french toast on top (that was still dry even though I soaked each piece). Not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
A delicious and easy way to feed a crowd. Use non-stick foil on top when baking. I used golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
YUM! Served it for my mother-in-law's visit. It was a great hit and easy for me to prepare. Clean up was a snap because I used a throw-away aluminum pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This recipe was great! It even impressed the picky eaters! I used regular white bread and it was still delish! I also dipped each piece of bread to ensure an even flavor. definetly will make this again and again! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StepfordWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Wonderful!!! A nice treat first thing in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Grivner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oreland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Fabulous!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I made this recipe for New Year's day brunch. It was a huge hit with my guests. I omitted the raisins since I really don't like raisins. the pan I used was a little smaller than what the recipe called for so I overlapped the pieces of bread in the pan. I also dipped the bread in the egg mixture before puttin in the pan so all the bread was coated and not dry. This recipe comes out nice a crunch on the outside and was very moist on the inside. I used Granny Smith apples as other reviewers suggested. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
this was so good and easy, not to mention super-cheap to make. i made it with cinammon raisin bread, which was a bit too sweet for me, but i can't fault the recipe because it called for regular bread. next time, i'll use regular french bread and perhaps throw some cream cheese chunks in it to cut the sweetness. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Pretty good. I used Pepperidge Farm whole wheat Cinnamon Raison bread and soaked the break in the egg mixture (instead of pouring the egg over bread. Make sure you make thin apple slices so that the apple cooks well. I think Granny Smith apples are best for this. Not a pretty dish, but sprinking powdered sugar after it comes from oven helps with the aesthetics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is our Christmas breakfast-we love it. I add dried cranberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUDYFLYNN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States