Apple-Raisin French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
this was so good and easy, not to mention super-cheap to make. i made it with cinammon raisin bread, which was a bit too sweet for me, but i can't fault the recipe because it called for regular bread. next time, i'll use regular french bread and perhaps throw some cream cheese chunks in it to cut the sweetness. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Pretty good. I used Pepperidge Farm whole wheat Cinnamon Raison bread and soaked the break in the egg mixture (instead of pouring the egg over bread. Make sure you make thin apple slices so that the apple cooks well. I think Granny Smith apples are best for this. Not a pretty dish, but sprinking powdered sugar after it comes from oven helps with the aesthetics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is our Christmas breakfast-we love it. I add dried cranberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUDYFLYNN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I used cinnamin raisin toast instead of a plain baguette. THis was a huge hit -- highly recommend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I would give this 5 stars for smell while baking but it was a little dry. I used the raisin bread as suggested and soaked the cubes but still a little dry. Would say it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I have made this twice the first time I made it I did not let it set overnite. The second time I did place it in the refrigerator over night, I used less eggs, so that it did not have a really eggy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Pasco, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This recipe is great. I found it a few years ago and have been making it every year for our big Thanksgiving weekend family get togethers. Everyone loves it. Only one suggestion, make sure when your pour the egg over the bread you wet each piece of the bread with the egg mixture or else it will be a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Very delicious!! After reading previous reviews, I decided to use 1 loaf of Pepperidge Farm Cinn Raisin Bread, cubed and soaked in the egg mixture, then spread on top of the thinly sliced apples. For the apples,I used Splenda brown sugar mix and reduced the quantity to 3/4 cup. Since I was using the raisin bread, I did not add any additional raisins. I did use 8 eggs instead of 6 and refrigeraged casserole overnight. The aroma while this was baking made my mouth water and it turned out perfect. The hubby loved it. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I made this for a bunch of friends. It was by far the most popular item at my brunch! A friend suggested that I first dip the bread in the eggy milk liquid first before putting it down over the apples. Also, she suggested that I dump the eggy milk mixture over the bread and apples once I dunked the bread. That made sure all the breads were well saturated with the eggy mixture. Also, I used thinly sliced cortland apples. The apples didn't come out mushy at all. And finally, I decided to omit the raisins as I am not a huge raisins person. All in all, it was really yummy and very easy to make. I would definitely make this again for a big group of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Great breakfast casserole. Everyone loves it. Added 4 apples instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Moritz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States